• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Newbie questions: PM6 mod and MM+ WO sammie

AuroraLite

Enlightened
Hi, Wayne and everyone! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif I wanna start off saying it is really good to be here, and I had immensely enjoyed reading and learning from these forums!

I am a total newbie here /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/help.gif and would just like to seek some advices on ordering a BK assembly and building my first PM6 sammie:

For the PM6 mod, I plan on ordering:

1 Lux III 3W TV1L
1 McModule
Couple of PM Emitter board and Contact PCB(in case I screwed up soildering), and
1 DB 1000mA Stepdown Converter Board-Rev. 3

Q1) Am I missing anything for making a PM6 mod? My PM6 is an Incan with internal thread in the batt tube.
Q2) Although I do not intend to use it for few minutes at a time, will the PM6 be too hot to handle even in, say 5-10 min?(I had read about the heat issue with a BB 1000 in MiniMag) When approx will it become too hot to handle?
Q3) From what I have read/gathered, it seems like the original PM6 reflector is pretty decent…is there anything I could order to improve upon it? If I could have it my way, I would prefer an intense spot with min spill over flood.
Q4) Will it be brighter than the original PM6 incan?

For my Minimag Sammie, I am ordering a BK assembly with:

1 Lux III 3W TV1L
1 MM+ Wide Open
Faren LP and 17mm IMS reflector
retaining o ring and o ring

Q1) Am I missing anything for a BK assembly?
Q2) How bright? Approx in lumens? Or any comparable commercial flashlight?
Q3) I really love the twist on/off for the MiniMag(with the head twist all the way down)…just wondering is there a way I could keep it without much modification on the original body(maybe mod on reflector like KJ has shown here ? Btw, Is this the correct O-ring to place b/n lens and mod reflector)?
Can I save the work by a domed glass for lens?