WA1111 vs WA1160 in Mag Rechargable ???

Gliderguy

Newly Enlightened
Noob here. I have two mag rechargables. After lurking and searching this board for awhile, I bought some WA1160 bulbs from Flashlightlens.com. I was only able to find around 4 or 5 different threads on this subject when I searched, but I have lots of other questions:

Now I am wondering about bulb life compared to the WA1111? Under load after about 20 seconds, my newer Mag is putting 6.1 volts to the 1160 bulb, and the older one (with the older style 2.2 Ah battery) just puts about 5.5 to 5.6 volts across the bulb pins. Anyone here have a couple extra WA1111's they want to part with?

Anyone with any real world experience on the issue of bulb life/durability? Would a drop from waist height onto concrete guarantee a blown bulb (either WA bulb)?

I am wondering also about possibly getting a tube extender to use 5 full D cell NiMH or NiCd. Does current /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif NiMh D cell technology handle the ~ 3.5A this light would want to pull? I am thinking of the 9 to 11 Ah batteries. I suppose the charger would have to be tweaked if I swapped to NiMh as well. Any good threads on how to do this?

I am wondering about sputtering one of the reflectors to better blend the artifacts associated with the longer filament lenght of the 1160 vs stock bulb.

would a UCL with the diffusion coating be worth exploring or would I cook it with a 20W light?

Cool site by the way. Like most everyone else new here I didn't know I wasn't alone in my flashlight "collecting"

Chris

bwaites

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: WA1111 vs WA1160 in Mag Rechargable

1160 is very slightly brighter than the 1111 on 6 volts. I haven't popped an 1160 by dropping the light, but I've never dropped one hot, or onto concrete without at least partially diffusing the blow.

I haven't burned out an 1160 yet, have 20 plus hours on one, more than that on another.