Mag / Craftsman 2-D + GH24: New reflector needed?

Hookd_On_Photons

Enlightened
I have an old Maglite 2-D (actually, the Craftsman knockoff) that's currently using 2 Elektrolumens 3AA-to-D battery holders and a KPR-118 Radio Shack bulb. Better than the stock setup, but nothing all that special.

I'm thinking about purchasing some Reflectalite GH24 bulbs to use instead of the KPR-118, powered by 6 NiMH AAs.

Will the GH24 melt the reflector?

The reason I ask is that I can't figure out how to open the head to swap out the lens and reflector. Is the seam sealed with Loctite or something?

If the stock reflector is OK, then all is well.

If I need an aluminum reflector, does anybody know how to open up the Craftsman D Tool light head? (Yes, I'm a noob)

Hookd_On_Photons

Enlightened
I plan to order them from the manufacturer (Reflectalite), which is located in Great Britain.

http://www.reflectalite.com/halogenpage.html

They're $6.40 each.
Shipping (to any destination worldwide) is $3.20 per order.
They accept Paypal.

http://www.reflectalite.com/buyingbulbs.html

I was thinking about getting a UK SL6 (200 lumens output, running on 6 C cells), but I figured for the $36 I'd pay for the SL6 I could buy 5 GH24 bulbs and not have to retire the trusty old 2-D flashlight.

OK, I've tried twisting the end of the head off with a strap wrench, without success. If there's a seam, I don't see it. Did they loctite the seam?

If the head is a one-piece assembly, how did they get that reflector in there? Was it built inside the head by little magic gnomes, like those ships-in-a-bottle? Does the lens just snap off? I'll be disappointed/embarrassed if that's the case, and I'm a little afraid to start prying at the lens until I know that's the correct answer.

For those who have no idea what the GH24 fuss is about:

Reflectalite GH24 Test

If you're curious about the Ikelite bulb mentioned in the thread linked above, it sounds like it's an iffy proposition:

Ikelite PCa Bulb Results