NEXTORCH - Saint Torch 11        
Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

  1. #1
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    585

    Default AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    Looking at getting an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ processor. This will be used mainly for games! Would you go this way, instead of a high end Intel? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/help.gif[/img]

  2. #2

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    64 bit im still not up to date on it there is isnt to many 64 bit aplcations yet or operateing systems im useing a amd xp barton at 3200 speeds my amd 2100 finaly bit the dust but i ran it like at 3400 speeds. but what finaly killed it was a cracked cored [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]

  3. #3
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,274

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    Big fan of AMD processors. There will always be a debate on which is better. As for me, I've never had an AMD go bad on me or had any problems relating to the processor, but I don't overclock either. I figure, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. As a matter of fact, I'm typing this on an XP 3000 barton core.

  4. #4

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    tiktok overclcok that baby its fun. free power [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/buttrock.gif[/img]

  5. #5

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    AMD 64 is the best for games both now and in the near future when it comes to price/performance. Make sure and spend equal time researching video adapters giving them equal weight in buying decisions. It may be better to go a little cheaper on the CPU to gain a notch or two up the video card ladder so to speak. The intel cpus are only noticably faster for doing things like video encoding etc, while on most other things the AMD64 with built in memory controller excell and with larger amounts of memory to be used in the future I expect this to become more of an issue causing Intel to design a similar CPU to replace the aging P4.

  6. #6
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    1,571

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    The athlon 64 sure packs some punch! I've seen one run better than a P4 ee !!! ! (!)
    Wish I could get one of these... If only I just sold a couple lights... Naw!

  7. #7

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    For gaming, I would probably go with an AMD. The 64bit 3500+ is pretty expensive though...I might go with something slightly slower to save some money.

  8. #8
    Flashaholic* PEU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Buenos Aires / Argentina (I like ribs)
    Posts
    3,598

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    go for AMD, less expnsive and far better...


    Pablo

  9. #9
    Flashaholic* Sub_Umbra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    la bonne vie en Amérique
    Posts
    4,749

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    If you're resigned to laying out the bread for a high-end system,then PLEASE buy AMD!

    I'd like to see what a 64-bit AMD chip would do in a system with an operating system that is mature, like one of the *NIXs.

    [ QUOTE ]
    Lynx_Arc said:
    ...on most other things the AMD64 with built in memory controller excell and with larger amounts of memory to be used in the future I expect this to become more of an issue causing Intel to design a similar CPU to replace the aging P4.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I'd love to see INTEL scrap its 64-bit ITANIUM and try to come up with something that can compete with the AMD chip. IIRC more of the first 64-bit AMD cpu were sold in the first six months after it was introduced than ALL of the ITANIUMS sold in its much longer sales history. If INTEL were to finally pull the plug on the loser 'ITANIC' after all this time and money down a rathole it would be a real shot in the arm for AMD. It would tell the whole world that AMD has the technology edge over INTEL. WHEW! Major loss of face.

  10. #10

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    i wish i could afford a high end parts .every pc i build i have to wait for a sale.best sale around here was a amd 2500 and mobo for 70 at frys..but id love to be able to aford a high end cpu.right now my fav cpu is amd .well i always have liked amd.and i realy like nforce 2 mobo,s the shuttle is very nice for the price.

  11. #11

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    Even if Intel would *admit* AMD did something better it wouldn't replace the fact they have deeper pockets and bigger fabs. Until AMD can catch up financially Intel will still rule the processor world and use questionable tactics to keep its stranglehold on it just to the point they are not shut down by the FTC for unfair market practices.

    I have bought intel and AMD throughout the years. I buy AMD if they are the better deal and as compatible with upcoming technology and Intel when AMD turns out a lemon like the K5 series.

  12. #12
    Flashaholic* Sub_Umbra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    la bonne vie en Amérique
    Posts
    4,749

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    [ QUOTE ]
    raggie33 said:
    i wish i could afford a high end parts...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Don't feel like the Lone Ranger. I just rebuilt my main box with a new mobo, cpu and memory. I used the fastest cpu you could put in a PC...er...two years ago!

  13. #13

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    [ QUOTE ]
    Sub_Umbra said:
    [ QUOTE ]
    raggie33 said:
    i wish i could afford a high end parts...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Don't feel like the Lone Ranger. I just rebuilt my main box with a new mobo, cpu and memory. I used the fastest cpu you could put in a PC...er...two years ago!

    [/ QUOTE ]yep looks like it will be 2 years before we can get clawhammer. but man it looks cool 1 meg a level 2 cache.my video card is still nvidia 4200.hey if ya have a frys in ya area check em out they have crazy sales on mobo combos on weekends we just got a frys a few months ago [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

  14. #14

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    Last major rebuild I did was to swap out my AMD K6-266 for a K6-450, it works fine for the internet but I cannot play much in the way of games or watch dvd movies without major hiccups.
    Hopefully I can build a new system next year.

  15. #15
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,274

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    [ QUOTE ]
    raggie33 said:
    tiktok overclcok that baby its fun. free power [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/buttrock.gif[/img]

    [/ QUOTE ]
    may give it a try one of these days. Got plenty of cooling power so I shouldn't have any problems bumping up the speed a notch. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

  16. #16
    Flashaholic* Sub_Umbra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    la bonne vie en Amérique
    Posts
    4,749

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    I think I read somewhere that dual-core OPTERONS are in the AMD development pipe. It's only a matter of time before all of them become affordable. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

  17. #17

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    my first cpu was a amd thunderbird.i only build amd. based compouters now.and prefare ati video cards and nvidia based motherboards

  18. #18

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    dual core opterons will be nice for server apps, for domestic uses and gaming most games are not written to take advantage of them. They also have to work on heat issues of them and liscensing for windows not treating a dual core as two cpus even though it is almost like two seperate CPUs

  19. #19
    *Retired* NewBie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Oregon- United States of America
    Posts
    4,946

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    I do some serious overclocking on most my systems, and I've not had a AMD or Intel chip go bad, even after five years of 24/7 (never off besides power outages).

    Ever make your own heatsink?

    http://home.insightbb.com/~danzigrul...to_jarhead.htm

  20. #20

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    i havent made my onew yet newbie but i love to overclcok and benchmark and run prime 95 to test for stabilty. i still need better memory. im looking for a very good cheap and silent heatsink i use cooler master now

  21. #21

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    last cpu I overclocked was an intel 486DX2-66... I pushed it to 80mhz and ran it for 4 years before retiring it.
    my current CPU is underclocked since I would have to overclock my memory more than I want to get it to work at spec.

  22. #22

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    this mobo is a overclock monster i think ya can raise voltage to cpu to like 2.20 volts lol that will require major cooling i have it at stock volts of 1.65 volts and at 200x11

  23. #23
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    585

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    Thanks...looks like AMD is the way to go then!!

    On another note, looking at graphic cards, I was reading that AGP is on the way out and the PCI Express is the new thing. Does anyone know any more about this...any good links? Thanks very much for the help so far! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

  24. #24

    Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    Unless you want to wait for PCIx to mature and be available on AMD 64 motherboards and buy two cards to run dual channel mode/interlaced to the same monitor I don't see waiting for it worth it at this time. Try tomshardware.com, andandtech.com are two sites with articles on PCIx stuff. I haven't kept completely up with it due to lack of funds to even build myself a 1ghz system at this time kinda discourages me somewhat, so you can decide if you want to wait.

    I figure PCIx motherboards will cost more and the cards will probably cost nearly the same as PCI standard perhaps more or less depending on if the card is PCI native having to bridge to work with PCIx or vice versa.

    If someone finds this info out of date please jump in with some other information so I can catch up on it more.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •