WA1111 blew, ruined my PMR - normal?

BobVA

Enlightened
So there I was, playing flashlight. I was doing a beam comparsion between one toy and my 6xAA NimH/WA1111/5 Mega MOP reflectored 2D Mag. I heard a "pop" followed a second later by the WA1111 flaming out.

The inside of the reflector head was completely opaque. Lens and reflector were covered with a milky white deposit. I cleaned the lens, but had no luck with the reflector. I gradually escalated cleaning violence and did get the film off the reflector, but I also wrecked the finish. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/awman.gif

So, can anybody tell me:
- Is this a normal WA bulb flame out? I'm new to the hotwire biz.
- Is there a way to clean the blow-out detritus off the reflector without wrecking it? If not, should I anticipate having to replace the reflector when the bulb blows? (If so, I'm going back to KPR112's /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif )

Glad I had another light!

Thanks in advance!

Bob

BC0311

Flashlight Enthusiast
Aw man, that's a real bummer. Very sorry to hear what it did to your PMR!

I have a light set up similarly with the WA-1111 and two EL AA to D adapters coming in the mail to me and am concerned. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mpr.gif This is my first foray into the hot wire field.

Britt

Ginseng

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've blown a few bulbs in this manner. Sometimes overdriven bulbs will expire in this non-peaceful manner. The WA01111 is overdriven on 6 cells and is liable to blow like this. It's rare, but can happen.

As for cleaning, what I did was take the reflector out of the light and run water over the surface but not rubbing it with anything. Then I plugged up the bulb hole from the back with my finger and filled it up with water and a few drops of dish detergent. Shook it around a bit and then poured it out and rinsed with running water. Never touching the surface with anything solid. Shook the loose water off and let it dry.