LED Detectives: what made these LEDs fail??

php_44

Enlightened
Hi All,

Though a seasoned EE, I'm not a quantum mechanic
smile.gif
, so I figured I'd pick some brains semiconductor brains. I'm looking for an LED forensic expert (since this might be a LED crime - possibly a coroner)
winkie.jpg
!!

I purchased a batch of InGaN based white LEDs that were returned to a vendor by an initial customer and were probably not retested by the vendor before being sold to me. Half the LEDs were good. Half would not light, and were failed as a low resistance short circuit when a low current was passed through them. I discovered that at higher currents some would light feebly. Further I discovered that a very brief high current pulse would mostly cure them - and allow them to work at close to expected brightness.

What sort of damage is there to the die to cause this behavior? Were they zapped by static electricity from poor handling? Were they subjected to reverse voltage breakdown?

The damage was cleared by a brief zap, however, I'm not going to keep the bad ones as I'm concerned about reduced life from the initial damage and damage from the apparent remedy. Would they live long and prosper if I "recovered" them?

I'm a little concerned because a few of the LEDs were failed "open" and had obviously burned plastic above the die - indicating big time over current --or perhaps an attempt to "recover" them by the vendor? I hope I have not been sold some repaired lemons.

I'm sending back the bad ones - but am still very curious. Any ideas?

Marshall Johnson

Newly Enlightened
Well I'm not an expert either, but I'll take a shot at this.

I have heard people say before that they've fried LED's by overdriving them too much, and they were able to "fix" some of them by seriously overdriving them for a brief moment. I've never tried this myself, so I can't say for sure if that's what happened.