dumb newbie here!

quartz

Newly Enlightened
Hi there guys! I've been fascinated by flashlights ever since I was a kid, and just recently I stumbled upon this website and what great timing coz I just had this big time boo boo that happened to me.

I have been using my favorite flashlight, the Surefire G2 Nitrolon, for about 2 years now, (I'm into mountaing climbing) and because of the high cost of batteries here in my country ($3 per piece - Philippines)I have been searching for rechargeable ones. Lo and behold when I saw one being sold at a local photography shop, I did't hesitate to buy one. I cannot make out the brand of the battery, actually there is no brand on the package, all it says is "Rechargeable Photo Camera" and "CR123A", not even the voltage of the battery and it is made in China. Obvously cheap generic batteries. But it still cost me $35 for the charger and 2 batteries. Anyway, when I got home, I charge the batteries, one at a time for 12 hours each, then the next day, when both of the batts where charged, I tried them on and it just lit up for maybe half a second, then nothing. Fearing for the worse, I got my regular 123a's and when I turned it on...nothing happened...to make it short, my lamp is now busted.

Now I dont have a bulb and I think I'm stuck with a $35 P.O.S. But reading thru these forums, I learned that rechargeable 123A's are 3.6volts, and the G2 uses only 6v bulb, hence the busted lamp of my G2, and also I saw this website, www.jsburlys.com here in the forums and he is selling a Pila 3.7V Lamp Assembly, and it says there that you can use this lamp assembly for the G2. So can I buy this lamp and use it with my rechargeable 123A's? Assuming that it can take the charge my batteries gives out?

Sorry if this is a long one, hope you have the time of answering a newbie in need!

Thanks and more power.

shifty646

Newly Enlightened
You can use the Pila lamp assembly with the Pila batteries. Which is a stick the size of 2 123's and is 3.7v.