Storacell
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: hotlips focus?!?!

  1. #1
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    boston area
    Posts
    740

    Default hotlips focus?!?!

    I am about to do a 2D hotlips badboy/madmax mod, and would like to know
    how to best position the LED reflector to get the tightest focus.

    I would think it would have to do with how you cut off the cam end of the reflector.

    Does un-screwing the head do any good changing the focus?

    Would using a side emmiter be a good idea?

    Thanks, dan

  2. #2
    *Flashaholic* Rothrandir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    7,797

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    hd's tend to work the best, though se's and ld's work also.

    the cam will need to be removed for it to fit, but aside from that the focusing works much as it did before, where you twist to acheive your desired focus.

  3. #3
    Flashaholic* Sway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,661

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    Cut all of the cam tube off as close as you can to the reflector put it back in the head and twist it down to get your desired focus thatís all it takes [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

    Later
    Kelly

  4. #4
    Flashaholic* 3rd_shift's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DFW. TX. U.S.A. Earth
    Posts
    3,338

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    After you do that, Don't wipe the cutoff dust from the reflector with anything! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/str.gif[/img]
    Use compressed air (computer store) to blow out the dust.
    Leave about 2-3 millimeters of the cam neck on when you cut with a bandsaw, or hacksaw.
    You can always sand off any remaining to perfection later. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
    Vise pliers carefully holding the cam do help when using a primative hacksaw. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]

  5. #5
    Flashaholic* LEDmodMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Over a MILE high, CO
    Posts
    1,719

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    Better yet, use a pair of aviation (tin) snips to cut off the reflector cam. NO DUST!!! Trim slowly and rotate the reflector as you go. The piece you cut off will look like a spiral when you're done (to give you a better idea of what I mean). I've yet to have the plastic crack. It cuts very nicely and cleanly.

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* hotbeam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Melb, AU
    Posts
    1,735

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    Everything I would have suggested has been said above [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img].

    Summary:
    - Clean your reflector without making contact with it. Compressed air or air bulb (like those used by photographers) works well
    - Do not cut the curved part of the reflector visible from the reflector stalk. Leave ~2-3mm of the reflector stalk intact.


    If you find a good flux SE LuxV, that would be a very nice beam for walking and spotting. You get a lot more spill closer to you (than the HD) and you also have a good spot that is marginally less than a HD.

  7. #7
    Flashaholic illumiGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Kapolei, Hawaii
    Posts
    499

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    Use a Nibbler tool to cut the cam off. Very easy and fast, and no dust!

  8. #8
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    boston area
    Posts
    740

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    Thanks guys.

    I will use a lathe to part off the cam tube. Just one long chip.

    Dan

  9. #9
    Flashaholic* 3rd_shift's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DFW. TX. U.S.A. Earth
    Posts
    3,338

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    What color mag host are you using?
    A black one will require some inside-the-tube work to get the Hotlips in without spending hours malloting it in.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    boston area
    Posts
    740

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    haven't decided on my old 3D(black) or my new
    3D(lt. blue/green). I was going to do a Madmax driver in the 2D,
    But am thinking of using an old 3D for a Lux3 DD mod.

    If Vin is greater than Vf will a madmax or Badboy direct drive without harm? That way I can put the MM/BB in the 3D and have DD untill the batteries rundown, then the MM/BB will boost to get the last bit of juice out of the battries.

    Dan

  11. #11
    *Flashaholic* KevinL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    At World's End
    Posts
    5,801

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    [ QUOTE ]
    3rd_shift said:
    What color mag host are you using?
    A black one will require some inside-the-tube work to get the Hotlips in without spending hours malloting it in.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Come on. It only takes 10 minutes [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

    (and $40 to replace a LuxV if you miss!)

  12. #12
    Flashaholic* hotbeam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Melb, AU
    Posts
    1,735

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    FITMENT GUIDE:
    -----------------------
    Hotlips-D
    Black body: snug (need sanding of the ID of the OAD opening)
    Silver body: snug (need sanding of the ID of the OAD opening)
    Red body: perfect
    Blue body: perfect
    Green: perfect


    Use hotlips.hotbeam.com to get to the Hotlips thread

  13. #13

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    the BB and MM are not recommended to be used as direct drive setup. However, folks have run their MM with lithium AA, which is about 3.6V or equals to 3 rechargeable NiMH with quite success. So your mileage may vary.

  14. #14
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    boston area
    Posts
    740

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    thanks all. I did have to turn down the OD of the hotlips to fit into the black 3D. I wired up for DD and put in the three D cells. Hit the switch and there was light. I measured the curent and it was about 0.375A. Not what I expected. Then I remembered that the cells were old and partialy used. So in goes three fresh cells and now the current is 2.1A. Too much. So then I remove the hotlips and add two 1.5 Ohm resistors in paralell for .75Ohms. Checked the currnet and its at 0.850A just about right. Now I have to make another hotlips for my 2D.

    When using a convertor board (MM/BB) where should I put the board?
    I could wrap it up and just leave it, or I could glue it to the bottom of the hotlips.

    Dan

  15. #15
    *Flashaholic* greenLED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    La Tiquicia
    Posts
    13,244

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    You'd need to attach it to the bottom of the horlips, using some thermal epoxy, IIRC.

  16. #16
    Flashaholic* Icarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    Or you can put the converter in an ecan and epoxy the ecan to the bottom of the hotlips.

  17. #17
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    boston area
    Posts
    740

    Default Re: hotlips focus?!?!

    [ QUOTE ]
    greenLED said:
    You'd need to attach it to the bottom of the horlips, using some thermal epoxy, IIRC.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I can do that. But should I glue down the componant side to try to cool the IC and stuff. Or the flat side for better contact?

    How likly is a short to the hotlips? If I had planned ahead, I could have used some of the AA epoxy that I mixed for the emmiter, to make a hard thin layer first (to be sure and have a layer between the board and the hotlips), then add some more to hold it in place.

    Oh well, I have pleanty of AA, so it doesn't matter if I have to mix two more batches.

    Dan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •