Should I quit my job (long post)

flownosaj

Flashlight Enthusiast
Okay guys, I first need to vent and have a long rant--then I need advice.

I'm a registered nurse working on a cardiac floor at a local civilian hospital. For the most part, I like my job and I like the people I work with.

Unfortunately I have a problem.

Over the past two months, things have been getting progressively worse. I've had higher patient loads, the people are sicker, and since the hospital is a business, they're reducing costs by making due with less nurses for the same (or more) work.

It's not always bad--in fact 3 out of 4 nights go just fine, but some nights suck the life out of me.

The bad part is that we're moving into a new wing along with the ICU next month. We'll have more patients, they will be higher acuity, and we will do it with the same number of staff--just a worse version of what we have now.

Last night was a good example. I felt sick, but I didn't call off. I thought that since it was the first Monday after Christmas, I figured it would be busy and I would be needed. In fact, I've put 2 extra shifts in over the past two weeks. When I get there, they've taken our "extra" worker and put her on another floor. Then at 11pm, the charge nurse sent home the travel nurse that costs the hospital more money, even though she knew I felt terrible.

From 6:45 pm till 9 am I worked my @ss off. Emergency phone calls to doctors, prepping patients for STAT procedures, literally runing from room to room dealing with all kinds of patient problems. The kicker was that I had to put up with a PA this morning who never returned my STAT pages from the night before and feels fit to criticise me because I contacted the MD instead.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon23.gif