newbie here: what does LED stands for?

flashniac

Newly Enlightened
Iwould like to know what LED stands for and what are the advantages in front of an incandescent bulb?

CroMAGnet

Flashlight Enthusiast
Here is a link to a place that has info on lots of things. HowStuffWorks

Here is a little snippet "LEDs have several advantages over conventional incandescent lamps. For one thing, they don't have a filament that will burn out, so they last much longer. Additionally, their small plastic bulb makes them a lot more durable. They also fit more easily into modern electronic circuits.

But the main advantage is efficiency. In conventional incandescent bulbs, the light-production process involves generating a lot of heat (the filament must be warmed)."

I also learned the other day about why it is so hard to get the color to be a consistant white. Someone correct me as I miss things here... LEDs are blue as they are made and coated with phosphor which is yellow and the process is not exacting as to how much phosphor to create the exact white so they somehow get labeled in bins or groups. ... My first stab at understanding this /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

LED Museum Has a lot of answers to your questions and more.

WildRice

Flashlight Enthusiast
Close enough for govt work CromagNet... This process is for a select number of LED's. There are White, and also Pink LEDs that are a blue 'die', (the "crystal" part of the LED that generates the light), that are coated or sprayed with a yellow emitting phosphor, (or pink).
All other colors are generated in the LED 'crystal', as the color that you see.

Jeff

CroMAGnet

Flashlight Enthusiast
LOL govt... So what about the coveted XO bin. Why are they so hard to get. Or sell for more. I was 'assuming' that it was because of the imprecision of the process of coating the blue LEDs with yellow phospor. I've always wondered this but only recently figured it was the phospur. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon3.gif