Newbie here needs some advice

Brasso

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have read and searched these forums and am quite simply over whelmed with information. I'm looking for a small, 1xAA or AAA led light with a clip that throws a nice flood pattern. It doesn't need to be too bright, just enough to read with, and has a long run time. Small enough to go in the pocket or clip to a hat brim. Looking for suggestions on makes and models. Thanks. Durability and water risistance is a must.

Hoghead

Flashaholic*
Welcome to CPF /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink2.gif

ARC AAA
CMG Infinity Ultra
CMG Infinity

The ARC AAA and the Ultra have about the same brightness. The Infinity has longer runtime and is dimmer, but still useful. The Infinity and the Infinity Ultra use AAs.

ARC has gone out of business and their lights command a premium price. If you want a ARC AAA, be prepared to pay $50 to $100.

Gerber bought out CMG and the newest version of the Ultra is different, but you might include it in this list (I didn't). If you want a Ultra or an Infinity, don't wait. The supply is limited to stock on hand, but the prices are reasonable.

davidra

Enlightened
You could do a search for Xnova, and also consider Peak, especially the 1-led as it's more spill than the 3-led head. The AA peaks would also be nice.

lahjik

Newly Enlightened
I am not sure what others have experienced, but I have not been happy with the durability of my CMG Sonic. Great size, and nice beam pattern/brightness (for what it is), but after maybe 2 months the twisty tailcap switch began malfunctioning. Even after asking and getting advice to clean with some alcohol, it is still having problems. If nobody else is having problems, then I will chalk mine up to a dud and probably would buy another. It does have a nice review.