newbie maglite question

sko

Newly Enlightened
was wondering if the reflector in my 4D maglite would be able to handle the heat from a '6V 1.7A 10W Halogen' bulb. And the batteries could deliver the current. I normally use alkaline.

Or if there are other 'cheap' alternatives.

bjn70

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not an expert but I don't think the batteries will provide that much current. I think under that load the voltage will drop quite a bit and instead of 10W you might get 8W or less. It is questionable if the reflector will handle that for extended run times. I'm guessing there is a reason that Mag puts more heat-resistant parts in the magcharger.

litho123

Enlightened
Welcome to CPF sko -

Here is some general information about the standard Maglite that I've gleaned from CPF discussions...and why people are replacing stock parts with heat tolerant parts.

THE STOCK REFLECTOR -

10 WATT LIMIT.
The plastic reflector will handle up to almost 10 watts before starting to bubble/star/melt from the bulb hole outwards. The greater the wattage, the sooner that this meltdown will occur. Continuous use of the 30 watt WA1185 will severely melt the reflector in 3 minutes or less, my wife melted the reflector in 7-8 minutes with a 20 watt bulb during a power outage, and the 12 watt CL1057 will melt it as well, though it will take longer for it to occur. Just keep checking for signs of damage after use.

Watts = volts time amps ie 6.0v x 1.7a = 10.2 watts

For the superbulbs we need to replace plastic with metal…

ALUMINUM REFLECTOR
An aluminum reflector will not melt and will help absorb some of the heat generated by the super bulbs.

REFLECTOR FINISHES
The stock reflector is like a mirror finish. It shows all the ugly artifacts, rings and grins, uglies, bowties, etc. that Maglites are known for.
Aluminum reflectors come in assorted finishes.