CMG Ultra vs Arc AAA

LLLean

Enlightened
I'm fairly new to LED flashlights. Just purchased the ArcLSH (which i love), and now, i'm eyeing the smaller lights.

I'm curious how different these two flashlights are, particularly the beams: the CMG Ultra and the Arc AAA. I've seen pix of the flashlights and their beams, but haven't seen any comparison pix. Any beam comparison pix will be very useful. Much thanks.

Wits' End

Flashlight Enthusiast
Remote NEast Minnesota, next to Lake Superior
I don't have a way to take and post pics but side by side the Arc LE and the Ultra are about the same brightness. The arc has a nicer (to me) color and a slightly tighter beam. Keep in mind that this is the LE not the standard I had both Arcs and gave away the standard as I liked the color and beam on the LE better.
The Arc has more cool factor and its smaller size is a factor in EDC. I carry both, the Ultra on its lanyard around my neck and the Arc in my pocket. Hope that helps.
I have removed my comments about LL's sig line and following his example will keep my off-topic opinions (well some of them) in PM. I appologize for what this stirred up and will try to keep myself in line
twak.gif

FalconFX

Flashlight Enthusiast
LLLean, main differenc between the 2 is size, with runtime being a second and price a distant third. Both are about the same in brightness, with maybe the Ultra ever so slightly squeaking by a hairline brighter. Remember, this is comparing the Arc AAA LE versus a CMG Infinity Ultra. Otherwise, if you compare the original AAA, the Ultra would win.

Whereas the Ultra has an approximate 20-25 hour runtime on a single AA, the LE has an 8-10 hour runtime on a single AAA. The Ultra is approximately twice the size (width-wise) as the LE. Arc LE has a varying price range from $28-$42. Ultra has a range from $25-$35. If there's other price ranges, feel free to correct me on this.