What should I buy ? newbie here

microban

Newly Enlightened
I was wondering what is a good strong flashlight not so expensive ??? That type were you can clearly see the track of the beam at night ???

owww man just bought my surefire aviator (im a private pilot) and now I want something stronger .... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

thanks !!!

MaxaBaker

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thor comes to mind.............go to Costco and pick one up for about $25..............be prepared to fill the entire cart with it!

microban

Newly Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
MaxaBaker said:
Thor comes to mind.............go to Costco and pick one up for about $25..............be prepared to fill the entire cart with it!

[/ QUOTE ]

with it ??? what do you mean ?? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

Grox

Flashlight Enthusiast
depends how bright you want the thing... it's also a question of form factor. you can get very bright lights, even searchlights that one might use for search and rescue. generally, bright lights tend to be bigger than the aviator you've got.

how much light do you want? will it be powered from a car?

ACMarina

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you want to throw (see across sky, I guess, like a beam) you need more size. Not to say that there aren't lights the size of an A2 that are brighter, because there are. The A2 isn't supposed to be a rock-em-sock-em bright light, it has other features that make it cool.

In around the same size, you could go with a G2 with a P61 HOLA. That would give you some beam to see. I've been told that my Thor's beam is visable to 10k feet, though. That's hard to beat for the price. .

microban

Newly Enlightened
yeah I wanted something compact like the a2 but I can see that it is not possible heh ! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif