Advice for "alround" headlamp

GuidingLight

Newly Enlightened
Advice for \"alround\" headlamp

Dear all,

I found a lot of interesting information on this forum but I am a bit overwhelmed by the sheer volume of it. As most of the posters seem very helpfull I wonder if you could give me some advice for a headlamp choice. I plan to carry the headlamp with me every day using it mainly for; miscellaneous chores, hiking, running, camping and reading. The most important features for me are: lightweight & good throw. I also prefer a white or yelow beam color above a blue one.

I have had some experiences with Petzl Tikka and Tactica plus and I would prefer something along the same lines for size and weight but with more throw.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards,

GL

grnamin

Enlightened
Re: Advice for \"alround\" headlamp

GL, my current everyday carry is a Petzl Myo XP. I carry it around in a small zippered softcase in my backpack. I highly recommend it (until something better comes around). /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif The 3-watt LED coupled with the optic throws a nice white beam and you can make it a flood with the built-in flip-up diffuser.

Silviron

Flashlight Enthusiast

My current favorite is the Petzl Myo 5.... Although the Myo 3 might have done me just as well..

I do like what they say about the XP, although I'm building from scratch a couple for myself thaty I think I'll like better.

But if I were buying now instead of building, it would be the XP

cognitivefun

Enlightened

For throw not much beats the PT Corona. But it is a little light in the spill department.