Innova XO3 or StreamLight TT2 or other ?

wuchak

Newly Enlightened
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to the sight and have been reading through the posts getting educated about flashlights. I'm wondering if you all can help me select a light. I am looking for a light to use for evening dog walks. My ideal light would have:
-long runtime since it will be used almost nightly
-low setting to use in poo scooping / increase visibility in traffic
-high setting to use as a defense light if someone gets too close for comfort
-2x123 size
-price < $80
-tail cap switch with momentary on
-all LED so no worries about breaking bulbs

I have not been able to find a light that meets all of the items on my list. The two that come closest so far are the StreamLight TT2 and the Innova XO3. Is there another light that meets more of my criteria? Are the TT2 and the XO3 bright enough to serve as a defensive light?
Thanks,
Wuchak

dwl1966

Newly Enlightened
wuchak

I think I'd recommend you go look at flashlightreviews.com for some very useful info. The whole concept of using a flashlight as a defense light is a tricky subject. It depends on who/what you intend to use it on, lighting conditions at the time, etc., and all it might buy you at most is one or two seconds to start running away as fast as you can! Look for other threads that deal with this in much deeper detail. Good luck!

Doug

Sarius

Newly Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
wuchak said:

-high setting to use as a defense light if someone gets too close for comfort

[/ QUOTE ]
Hi,

How big is your dog? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

That said, I second the reccommendation to check out Flashlightreviews.com, Quickbeam who runs the site is also the moderator of the Review section here. He does a superior review job, and makes it easy to directly compare features such as the beam, output, and size between various manufacturers and models.