LED newbie questions

undeclared_wyle

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone,

I have a nuwaii QIII, which I ran on standard QIII batteries, and the LED has busted, which is a shame, as it was a brilliant light. I have no knowledge about luxeon LEDs, but all my other luxeons have been excellent, so I guess this was just bad luck. It did see some seriously heavy use though.

Anyway, unsurprisingly I want some kind of replacement LED, but I really need some info on them. So here goes:

#1) What is the difference between a Luxeon emitter and a luxeon star? Which one do I want do give my QIII?

#2) Looking at some 3W luxeon LEDs in the Dealers section, I see they all have different codes by such as WH, HD, TW0J, WH, HD, TV1L and WH, HD, TX1L. While I am at changing the LED, I may as well get the best one available, i.e. brightest /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

#3) How hard is it to remove the broken LED, and install a new one? I am competent with circuit board work, being a veteran tinkerer with two way radios /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif, but I have no experience of the inside of torches.

Thanks for any help

Former_Mag_User

Enlightened
Are you sure your luxeon died? It actually might be the QIII's board. Some people have had it fail! I don't know about that though, contact member milkyspit for more info on that.

For your Q3 you will need a star.

The codes all called bin codes. They let you know the color and brightness of the LED. I'm guessing you were looking at member photonfantic's thread. I would advise that you get a TYOK, it is almost pure white with just a little hint of blue in the beam.

To remove the LED you first have to open your QIII, let me find that thread that has instructions found it. Click Here

Former_Mag_User

Enlightened
Once you have your new LED you unsolder the old one (paying attention to which wire is + and which is -.

DSC00605.jpg