ZTS Battery Testers

IlluminatingBikr

Flashlight Enthusiast
Recently a new banner has been posted on CPF for http://www.ztsinc.com/

They have different battery testers, one of which is the Mini-MBT for $30 + shipping.

What do you guys think of this battery tester? Worth the money, or is there something else you would recommend?

And while we're on this topic, is ZTS a trust-worthy company?

javafool

Enlightened
I have been using ZTS battery testers for over ten years, updating every 4 - 5 years. I started using them to test camera batteries, long before CPF. I think I first read about them in Modern Photography.
They have served me very well over the years.

Terry

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
I "keep meaning" to pick one of those up!

Gotta look around here for something else to sell...uh,errrrr - I mean "recycle". Love turning "already spent funds" into something new!

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello Aaron,

Your post prompted me to contact the company. I had a very nice discussion with Dave and invited him to check in here.

This tester seems to have some real possibility. They subject the cell to a current load and measure the voltage under load. They then compare that voltage with what they have observed while testing a large number of similar cells and give the results based on that.

For example:
NiMh cells are tested at a pulsed load of 380 mA and CR123's at 800 mA.

Dave is going to send me a technical paper on how this tester works, but from our discussion, it looks pretty good.

Tom

Flash_Gordon

Flashlight Enthusiast
SilverFox-

I have been looking at these testers recently. It seems most of us would need (want) the one that sells for about $70. It tests more of the cell types that most of use.

I know you have more knowledge and experience than most of us in this area to evaluate them.

I do hope Dave visits here at CPF. Maybe he will makes us a group offer that we can't refuse.

Mark

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello Mark,