TWOJ vs TWOH

Gonzo

Newly Enlightened
What would be the difference between the two if using the same driver board? Runtime, tint, brightness, etc?

Solstice

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not an engineer but I can give a layman's answer. The tint should be the same (barring the light is not very underdriven) since they are the same bin (WO). The other 2 parameters (runtime and brightness) depend on what the driver board is driving them at. Generally speaking, the TWOH is likely to be brighter at a given safe voltage since it takes less voltage to reach its peak. By the time you are up to the TWOJ peak brightness, you might be risking the life of the TWOH.

Billson

Flashlight Enthusiast
Using the same driver board, the TWOH should run longer due to it's lower voltage requirement. All other factors are not affected apart from the individual led's properties.

AuroraLite

Enlightened
Gonzo,

I am no EE person either, but only have some experience with different boards popularly used for driving the lux.

Given it is a constant current boost or buck board, the regulated runtime for TxxH will be longer than the TxxJ, but the brightness will basically be the same since they are both under the same lumen category (T) and current is the same.

For ex, a BBNG(constant current boost board) with TW0J and TW0H, they will have approximately the same brightness, but TxxH generally will have approximately 15-20 minutes longer runtime than the TxxJ(from my experience).

Another ex will be the Downboy(constant current buck board), it will go into DD mode once the battery voltage is the same as the lux Vf. So naturally, it will take longer time to drain the battery to the lower Vf of TxxH than the TxxJ.

Hope this helps. :)

HDS_Systems

Enlightened
Gonzo,