Help me pick out my parents christmas present...

Prairie

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, i'm new here but hopefully will stick around for a little bit.

I'm new to all this flashlight stuff as well but I am in the market for a couple of flashlights to get for my parents for christmas....

This is what I need:

1. The best keychain flashlight for my mom, something she can have on her at all times. (Photon freedom?)

2. A flashlight that would be good in the car for Dad...he is on the road a LOT and I cringe everytime I think about that minimag he has dieing. (No idea.)

3. A light to keep by their bed in case of power outtages, something they can grab and use to look for things around the house. (Possibly a lightwave?)

4. A "main" light for power outtages, maybe a lantern type?

Thanks guys, i'm hoping they appreciate this gift...even if they don't initially I know i'll get a call sometime down the road about it helping them out :)

Philip

NelsonFlashlites

Enlightened
1) Having shopped for the exact same thing, I decided on a photon microlight II for my mom, becuse it is simpler than the III or freedom. Avoid the PT Pulsar II because it can lock on too easily, IMO, depleating the batteries.

2) I'd go with a yellow Surefire G2 with the new LOTC (Lock Out Tail Cap) for a glovebox light.

3-4) Streamlight's power failure litebox is a bright rechargeable light that automatically comes on when the power goes out.

Hope this gives you some ideas.

greenLED

Flashaholic
1. Get her an Arc AAA. Common battery, reliable, etc....
2. Go with an Underwater Kinetics 4AA LED and pack it with lithiums.. no bulb to break in an emergency! :D and add an Inova 24/7.
3. Opalec Newbeam drop-in for miniMags. Simple, long runtime, and enough light for basic tasks.
4. Have you seen the new RiverRock lanterns available at Target?

Blades

Flashlight Enthusiast
Philip,
Welcome to CPF!!! You have opened a can of worms with that question. :) Now be prepared for about 100 different lights. :)