HDS EDC or Surefire?

takeitotc

Newly Enlightened
I'm a newbie to flashlights and about to buy either an HDS EDC 42 or 60 vs. a Surefire L1 but can't make up my mind. I read great things about both in the forum and would want to get the most bang for the buck. I know the HDS are very small, are these in general better throw/output/quality/runtime, etc than the Surefire? Anyone done any comparisons between these flashlights? Please help.:huh2:

turbodog

Flashaholic
Both HDS lights and the L1 are regulated lights. They are the same brightness on lithium cells or rechargeable cells.

The HDS blows away the L1 on brightness though.

It is pretty much agreed that VERY few lights compete with the HDS series. I sold over $650 worth of lights when I got my HDS.

HDS (even the basic) has 4 brightness levels.

Between your 2 selected lights, I would get the HDS. I have seen very few people not like them. And those that did not like them, it was usally for some personal preference, not quality/feature issues.

lrp

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've never seen the L1, but I have the HDS U60 and can tell you that it is one very well designed light that will meet most anyone's needs imo.

Solstice

Flashlight Enthusiast
IMHO, there really isn't a Surefire that matches the bang-for-the-buck as the HDS. The L1 is a nice light (I have both it and an HDS Basic 60), especially because of its user-friendly low/high switch. However, at the same price new, the HDS Basic 42 is significantly smaller and offers much more impressive engineering in its 4 regulated light levels and thermal regulation, etc. I actually find that the Surefire is easier to use, especially if you use low more than anything, but if I were to suggest one over the other, the HDS is the one I'd have if I had to choose between them.

Byron Walter

Enlightened