Acebeam K60 (1xXHP70, 4x18650) Review

Wurkkos

harro

Well-known member
CPF Supporter
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
894
Location
Northern Victoria, Australia
Just a beamshot of a standard K60 and K70. The night was below 2 deg C and was starting to get a little bit foggy as I took these pics. By the time the tripods and camera and torches were in the car, the fog had started to close in.
Power pole is 100M from camera.
Tree canopy overhanging road from both sides is 250m from camera.
Red reflector in K70 pic, is 900M from camera.
Camera lense foreshortens pics a bit ( ohh for a nice camera... ), but K70 beam continues 150-200M along road, underneath overhanging canopy, when you look carefully.

DSC00292.jpg K60

DSC00291.jpg K70

These are standard lights both running on Acebeam 3400Mah Hi Drain cells.
 
Last edited:

ven

Well-known member
CPF Supporter
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
22,477
Location
Manchester UK
Vinh bumps the k70 a little in output, k60 wise it's driven hard enough and sure any slight output gains are countered with excessive heat. The de-dome of the xhp70 does work well though(IMO anyway) with maybe a 500k loss and 60-80kcd gain. The k60 would be amazing with the new 5700k hi cri!!!
 

harro

Well-known member
CPF Supporter
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
894
Location
Northern Victoria, Australia
Vinh bumps the k70 a little in output, k60 wise it's driven hard enough and sure any slight output gains are countered with excessive heat. The de-dome of the xhp70 does work well though(IMO anyway) with maybe a 500k loss and 60-80kcd gain. The k60 would be amazing with the new 5700k hi cri!!!

Oh no, that's more excuses I need to think of, to get one into the house......

;)
 

Turbo V6 Camaro

Active member
Joined
Aug 24, 2009
Messages
38
you say the light draw 7amp form the batteries, would a battery rated at 10A work fine then? is it 7 from each battery or 7amp 4 ways ? how are the batteries set up?
 

candle lamp

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
1,572
Location
South Korea
you say the light draw 7amp form the batteries, would a battery rated at 10A work fine then? is it 7 from each battery or 7amp 4 ways ? how are the batteries set up?

As I mentioned in my review, Acebeam recommend the high drain cell as the light needs ~7A for max. output. But, from my estimated calculation (#19), each cell needs about 4A. Maybe it will increase at the end of run, due to the low voltate. The cells are in series.
 
Last edited:

Octavian

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
159
Location
Romania
It's a torch alright. This thing is pretty awesome but it puts out a ton of heat.

With 4000 lm on level 5 or 5000 on 6 is normal to put a lot of heat, the only issue is that the heat is not dissipated proper when it's starts to warm, but after a wile all heat is dissipated on the light (not only on the ring).
When is a little cold outside (14-15 grC) you can run on level 5 continuously without the light to be to hot to hold.

Also other lights (TM16 or TK75) get hot after few minutes of turbo.

For most of the tasks I find level 2, 3 and 4 more than enough. Level 5 (or 6) is just insane :))
 

seery

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
1,613
Location
USA
Been running Sanyo NCR18650GA cells in our stock K60.

Would the Samsung 30Q offer any increase in output [in turbo mode] over the GA's?

Would love to hear some feedback from the guys that have tried a few different cells in their stock K60.
 

adept1

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
118
Been running Sanyo NCR18650GA cells in our stock K60.

Would the Samsung 30Q offer any increase in output [in turbo mode] over the GA's?

Would love to hear some feedback from the guys that have tried a few different cells in their stock K60.

I think the K60 max current is 7A, so that's within range of the NCR18650GA which is rated at 10A max. I would not expect to see any benefit from the 30Q and the runtime would be less. I don't own any 30Qs though, so someone may prove me wrong.
 

Saddlerman

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
13
Great review of a great looking flashlight:twothumbs

I think the LG MJ ones should do well inside of this as well
 

seery

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
1,613
Location
USA
Been running Sanyo NCR18650GA cells in our stock K60.

Would the Samsung 30Q offer any increase in output [in turbo mode] over the GA's?

Ordered some more cells and compared them in the K60 [in 5,000L turbo mode only].

Samsung INR18650-30Q 3000mAh (unprotected).....dominated
Sanyo NCR18650GA 3500mAh (unprotected).....not too shabby
EVVA NCR18650GA 3500mAh (protected).....just ok
KeepPower NCR18650B 3400mAh (protected).....blah

The Samsung 30Q's dominated. Consistently ~4% brighter [than the GA's] and they drive turbo mode longer.

Awesome performers in the K60. Just ordered another set!
 
Last edited:

brightnorm

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 13, 2001
Messages
7,160
The K60 is very impressive. However, with four batteries in series I'm more comfortable using protected 3400s despite their less than maximum performance.

Brightnorm
 
Last edited:

ven

Well-known member
CPF Supporter
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
22,477
Location
Manchester UK
I wont use anything other than 30Q cells or alike:poke:full English breakfast over cereal any day:whistle:

;)
 

Octavian

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
159
Location
Romania
The K60 is very impressive. However, with four batteries in series I'm more comfortable using protected 3400s despite their less than maximum performance.

Brightnorm
yes, but is a big difference between them in overall run time. When cells start to loose voltage (at ~3,8V) in high mode 4000-5000 lumens the protection kicks, I tried with different protected cells.
With unprotected you have full power even at 3,5V in cell (with a good cell) .

Is not a flashlight good for protected cells.

Is one point which I like a lot to K60, very good regulation on high mode even if the cells are half empty
 
Last edited:

bwalker

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
104
Location
Texas
For you guys running 30Q cells in your K60, are you able to use flat top versions or do they have to be button top? Thx!
 

candle lamp

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
1,572
Location
South Korea
For you guys running 30Q cells in your K60, are you able to use flat top versions or do they have to be button top? Thx!

You're able to use flat tops in the light as well. Please note the battery carrier introduces rattle if you shake the light laterally when it's fully loaded with true unprotected cells.
 
Top