Wurkkos

ArmyTek Predator 2.5 (XP-G2 R5 1x18650 2xCR123A/RCR) Regular and Pro Review: RUNTIME+

bloodtype_Z

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
10
Can somebody please explain the process to reset the predator pro to factory settings? While trying to use strobe I somehow changed a mode and no longer get simple low/med/high with quick head turns. I've tried reading the manual but unfortunately I am a mere mortal and the instructions are obviously designed for superior intelligence super-beings. I'm starting to regret the predator pro as it's settings are convoluted as all hell.
 

mellowhead

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
300
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
Can somebody please explain the process to reset the predator pro to factory settings?

Predator Pro programming... not for the faint of heart.
I haven't done a reset personally, but I interpret the instructions as follows:

Part I - Entering the setup menu
Starting with your light on and head loose (line 2), enter the setup menu by:
1) Tighten head. Wait until the light switches to the First Line (approximately 1 second).
2) Quickly (within 3 seconds of light switching to first line),
a) Loosen head 1/4 turn
b) Turn the flashlight off and on again with two full presses of the tail button.

Part II - Selecting the correct setup menu function
The light should blink between 1 and 5 times. Take note of how many times it blinks. We want it to blink twice - for menu item #2: Factory Reset.
If it blinks 1,3,4, or 5 times, you will need to cycle through the items to get to #2. Cycle through them one item at a time with a fast (less than 1 second), off-on double click of the tail button.
Once you've reached 2 blinks for menu item 2, do a fast (less than 1 second) tighten-loosen of the head.
You should now be in the Factory Reset menu. How to tell whether you are or not? Read on in Part III to find out!

Part III - Activating a factory reset
If you successfully entered the factory reset menu, the light will now cycle automatically through the three preset programs: 1 blink for military (factory default), 2 blinks for outdoor, and 3 for custom. Then it starts back at 1 again, etc...

So to do the reset, you need to wait for the desired preset to appear (1 blink - military), and then do a quick (less than one second) tighten-loosen of the head. The light will load the factory defaults for that preset, and exit the setup menu completely.

Chances are, it's the military preset that you need to do a factory reset on because that's what these ship from the factory with as the active preset, so start with that one and try using the light again. If it's still all wonky for you, then repeat the whole process above to reset the "outdoor" and "custom" presets as well.

After reading the above steps, you might find this graphic to be a useful visual reminder. It shows the menu selection process after Part I above:

predatorguidepxv122c.jpg
 

selfbuilt

Well-known member
Joined
May 27, 2006
Messages
6,936
Location
Canada
Predator Pro programming... not for the faint of heart.
Indeed. Thanks for the detailed summary mellowhead, that matches my reading of the instructions as well.

Factory reset (as described above) should work for you bloodtype_Z. I've used it myself on the original predator, to ensure consistent mode settings across tests.
 

bloodtype_Z

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
10
Thank you much mellowhead those instructions make sense. I was thinking the pred pro would be a good duty light/bedside light but not when you need a quantum physics phd to operate it lol. Don't get me wrong it's the best quality light I've ever owned and I'm impressed with every other facet of it.
 

desmobob

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
324
Location
Upstate NY - Lake George region
My first Zebralight hooked me on the advantages of programmable lights. I've been looking at the armyTek lights for a while now, and since the programmable versions of the Pro models are soon to be gone, I took advantage of a 50% off sale at Ilumin and picked up a Predator Pro and Viking Pro.

I don't have them yet, but downloaded the instruction manuals from links in this thread. Wow. It looks like armyTek programming is a bit more involved than the Zebralight process....:ohgeez:

Wish me luck,
Bob
;)
 

mellowhead

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
300
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
My recipe for Armytek Pro programming:
1 part - luck of a unicorn
2 parts - concentration of a leopard
2 parts - patience of a saint
1 pinch - fairy dust

Mix all ingredients thoroughly for at least 30 minutes, and hope for the best!
:laughing:
 

ven

Well-known member
CPF Supporter
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
22,477
Location
Manchester UK
@bob,i am yet to have a dabble on the viking pro,tbh i am pretty happy with line 1 modes and seem good for my use,line 2 which is strobe and firefly ,i have saved firefly.

Simply put,i have it on the medium on head tight,head loose firefly for most uses i anticipate. The momentary is very useful,in fact finding fault is quite hard........i cant!....pre programming :laughing:

Light wise,well its fantastic,the feel of the ano,build,just a very nice light to hold. I did try the clip on but found a little "in the way" to hold(prefer comfort without and dont need clip tbh). It has a a air of confidence about it...........

:laughing: mellowhead,no doubt i will see how good the ano is once thrown with frustration....... when i get chance to try the "pro" part out!
 

desmobob

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
324
Location
Upstate NY - Lake George region
It has a a air of confidence about it...........

I recently purchased my first armyTek, a Tiara Pro C1, and share your feelings about the brand. It's just a tiny little light but it feels like the best-built of the brands I own.

I'm a gadget nut and couldn't resist the programming features on the v2.5 Predator and Viking Pros, especially at half price. I only really wanted one and was having a hard time deciding on the Viking or Predator. I like floody lights but, on the other hand, I could use a weapon light for a rifle. The 50% off price made it easy to make the flashaholic's choice: get both!

It's a shame armyTek is dropping the custom programming feature. They claim their marketing research shows so few people use it (or figure it out?), they figured it wasn't worth the expense. Oh well...

Take it easy,
Bob
 

ven

Well-known member
CPF Supporter
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
22,477
Location
Manchester UK
I recently purchased my first armyTek, a Tiara Pro C1, and share your feelings about the brand. It's just a tiny little light but it feels like the best-built of the brands I own.

I'm a gadget nut and couldn't resist the programming features on the v2.5 Predator and Viking Pros, especially at half price. I only really wanted one and was having a hard time deciding on the Viking or Predator. I like floody lights but, on the other hand, I could use a weapon light for a rifle. The 50% off price made it easy to make the flashaholic's choice: get both!

It's a shame armyTek is dropping the custom programming feature. They claim their marketing research shows so few people use it (or figure it out?), they figured it wasn't worth the expense. Oh well...

Take it easy,
Bob

Did not know they were dropping it,shame they did not look at another way to programme if that was the reason.
 

desmobob

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
324
Location
Upstate NY - Lake George region
Did not know they were dropping it,shame they did not look at another way to programme if that was the reason.

armyTek says only about 2% of the owners ever used the programming feature to set their own modes. (See post #10 in the "Predator/Predator Pro. Tactical Lights" thread in the armyTek forum in the CPF Commercial Corner section.)

I was mistaken when I said they figured it wasn't worth the expense. It was removed to simplify operation of the light and make it more marketable.

Take it easy,
Bob
 

Woods Walker

The Wood is cut, The Bacon is cooked, Now it’s tim
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
5,435
Location
New England woods.
Took about 3 hours but mastered some of this. One question. Does the factory reset to military also reset the power supply setting to default which I believe is 1X18650 per the previous version's manual?

2. One 18650 Li-Ion 3.7V (Li-Ion rechargeable battery, minimum voltage 2.8V) - by default
 

UBERSOLDAT

Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5
Location
Croatia
hey guys and ladies.. I have orderd a new Armytek Predator 3.0 with new XB-H SMO warm LED ....

Anyone experience with it??

Maybe throw of XB-H is better than XP-G2.. i do not know..
 

D6859

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
642
Location
Finland
I got my Predator pro v2.5 warm this week and last night I had time to program it.

First impressions:
- the tint seems quite purpleish to me on a white wall
- I wish it had metal grip ring instead of rubber
- the head is lot stiffer than in M22, impossible to use with only one hand
- the pocketclip attaches so that it cringes on the head when changing modes
- manual (v2.3) was written in a way that it was hard to read
+ programming the light isn't so hard after all and is possible without the manual
+ I found whole new spectrum of green and brown in the nature when comparing it to my TN12 (CW)
+ the throw is so long I haven't found a place to test it to its maximum yet

We're going to see Perseid meteor shower tonight so I have good chance to test the light more thoroughly :)
 

chadvone

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
406
Location
IOWA
Armytek website link to the manual is broken. I emailed them and they informed me they deleted all the old manuals.

Does anyone have an advanced manual they would share. Thanks in advance.
 

chadvone

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
406
Location
IOWA
Thanks shrike2222 that is the basic manual. The advanced manual shows how to program each line and level. I got mine back to Outdoor setting.

Thank again.
 
Top