Armytek Wizard/Pro Thread

Wurkkos

Henrik

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
22
Thank you Charles for the additional information - that's very helpful. The Storm and Revolt have similar throw claims on the BD website - despite different claimed output. I have an older Revolt, and IIRC it was advertised at 120 lumen max output. So I was hoping that the Wizard at 185 OTF lumens would give me close to the same throw as my old Revolt. Too bad about the BD lights too - they're very nice for the price, but the PWM and the interface are annoying.

I did look at the Zebralight H600w and the many good reviews they get, but they can't run on CR123 batteries and that is a deal breaker for me. For SAR I run my lights on rechargeable batteries, and carry primary batteries as back-up. I also tried to look at the Spark lights, but I simply gave up on their website :)

So for now I think the Wizard is still the top contender.
 

SubLGT

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 18, 2013
Messages
1,170
Location
Idaho, USA
……………….I also tried to look at the Spark lights, but I simply gave up on their website :)
………………..

The Spark website is nearly useless. They provide very little technical information about their flashlights.
 

bower4311

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
57
I have some odd Wizard Pro v. 1.5 problems. I'm hoping to get a replacement soon (2nd one now). Kind of frustrating. I too wonder if the cold had something to do with it. If I turn my light on now, it automatically goes right to turbo and is blinking (oscillating?) so fast you can barely tell, but it almost gives you a headache. You also can't switch between any modes. After a minute or so, it does return back to normal. Another real odd thing is that when I switch between modes when it is working correctly, the instance the button is pressed inward (usually nothing happens unless you hold it long enough to change modes) the light briefly appears to step up, then when I release, the light would go off, or hold it long enough and it switches modes. Something is very off and it's frustrating. 3 different batteries, all do the same thing. I'm from NY and the area I'm at, the temperature never got lower than Armytek says their light can handle. Also, when I turn it on and it's doing its weird turbo blinking thing, if I press the button down, it stops blinking/oscillating which seems strange.
 

mihp

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
1
Hi guys !

I have an Armytek Wizard Pro v1 (I think) that shows a strange behaviour:

If I run it on MAX for 10 or so minutes, the body becomes very hot (as expected).
If I turn it off now the LED still glows . The intensity of the glow is less than Firefly 1 mode.

If I unscrew the base for 1/4 turn the LED goes off, if I screw it back on LED glows again.

After the head cools down the glow slowly disappears.

So it seems to me there are some running currents due to high temperature.
Other than this the headlamp works fine.

I also have a Wizard V1.5 that does not do this.

Can anyone with a v1 Wizard test to see if his does this ?
Is this a fault or just a design 'feature ' ?

Regards
Mike
 

a_sap_2

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
3
Hey i have a question on the wizard pro v1 i have it and I've been using it for a couple months now and it is stuck being really dim right now like the battery is almost dead but i have put fully charged 18650 in it. Any help would be appreciated!
 

a_sap_2

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
3
Hey i have a question about the wizard pro v1 i have a problem because it is very dim but cycles through all the modes just very dim what could the issue be?
 

underconstruction

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
143
Location
MA
Can anyone point me to a video showing the strobe and beacon modes on the Wizard Pro? Or at least a description of their frequency? I want to get an idea of how useful they will be. Thanks.
 

D6859

Enlightened
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
642
Location
Finland
Can anyone point me to a video showing the strobe and beacon modes on the Wizard Pro? Or at least a description of their frequency? I want to get an idea of how useful they will be. Thanks.

I tried to take a video with my mobile phone, it should appear in http://youtu.be/9rLXXzjXlwQ . Maybe I should have had the lights on. Armytek's manual describes the modes 0.6 Hz and 10 Hz.
 

Phil2795

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Messages
1
My first post here .. So greetings everyone

Just received my Wizard Pro V1.5 ..
My first "Serious" headlamp
After an hour of playing round with it I'm pleased to say my other "Cheap n Cheerful" headlamp will never see the dark of night again

Previous comments about the effort required to activate the switch aren't a concern (I'd much prefer it that way vs accidental turning on)

For me .. I set it up with the switch on the left .. Upside down .. As most of the time I am using tools,carrying gear ,or holding on to ladders etc with my right (dominant) hand

Looking forward to a Brighter Future thanks to Armytek Wizard [emoji4]
 

blah9

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
2,056
Welcome! I'm glad you're satisfied, and I hope you continue to be happy with the Wizard!
 

scar556

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
12
I know that it is not recommended to use CR123 batteries in the Wizard .. But has anyone tried to use them? I am really wanting to purchase one but am not wanting to buy a charger and rechargeable batteries right away ... As I have tons of CR123s on hand ... Thanks for any info
 

blah9

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
2,056
I know that it is not recommended to use CR123 batteries in the Wizard .. But has anyone tried to use them? I am really wanting to purchase one but am not wanting to buy a charger and rechargeable batteries right away ... As I have tons of CR123s on hand ... Thanks for any info

I thought that as well but then looked it up, and I think the v2 one does take those batteries now. :)
 

scar556

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
12
I thought that as well but then looked it up, and I think the v2 one does take those batteries now. :)
Yes! You are absolutely right. .. I just checked their website and confirmed it. Thanks for pointing this out
 

RAM2

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
36
Location
Central Coast, Ca
I thought that as well but then looked it up, and I think the v2 one does take those batteries now. :)

The V2 Wizard and Wizard Pro are designed for 1x18650, 2x RCR123, 2xCR123A. This information is stated in the manuals. The Wizard Pro needs to be programmed for the type of battery being used.
 
Last edited:

D6859

Enlightened
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
642
Location
Finland
Inspired by the Zebralight moonlight mode test thread in LED Flashlights section of the forums, I've decided to do a 7lm/9d test on my Wizard pro and a 2lm/200h test on my Tiara A1. Anyone interested doing it at the same time with me? Or anyone interested at all about the test? I will start own thread for the tests if you're interested.

It would be more interesting to do the 0,5lm/100d and 0,1lm/90d tests but I'm afraid I'm going to need both of my headlamps during the summer.
 

scs

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
1,803
Did they fix the low temp blinking issue then on the latest version?

check out AT's own thread for the Wizard in the AT subforum and see if AT has even acknowledged that there is a programming or manufacturing defect.
 

Stevie

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
173
Location
Leeds, England
check out AT's own thread for the Wizard in the AT subforum and see if AT has even acknowledged that there is a programming or manufacturing defect.

Hmm....reading into what you just said....it would appear then that they are not great at acknowledging potential issues from customer reports then? Okay...hmm....not good.
 
Top