Bad idea to top off LSD NiMH Eneloops?

TyJo

Flashlight Enthusiast
I tried a few searches but I am not good with batteries or their associated terminology. I have a Maha Powerex charger and Eneloop AA and AAA batteries. I prefer to have a light with a "topped off" battery when I leave the house. I know Eneloops are low self discharge and are regarded as the best. Are there any problems with charging them to "top-them-off" to full capacity after a small discharge (lets say 90% remaining capacity)?
Thanks.

VidPro

Flashlight Enthusiast
what he said ^
when you have one of them chargers that needs to torture the battery more :) then it is not so good to keep topping them off.
if the charger is cool on them , then it is , , , nuff said.

Rod911

Enlightened
What should the top-off rate be? For a regular charge, it's 0.5C for me on my Maha, so would something less strenuous at say, 0.2C or 0.3C be better as a top-off rate?

march.brown

Flashlight Enthusiast
I top up all my LSD NiMh batteries every few months ... I did them on 25 March 2011 and before that it was 25 November 2010 ... I top them up more or less when I remember about them , whether they need it or not ... I replace the batteries in my EDC torches every few months from my stock of AA and AAA Eneloops , charge the used cells and put them back into stock.

I have been doing this with NiMh cells for many years as I did with previous rechargeable cells ... I don't now have any non-LSD cells and sometimes it can be many months between top-up charges.

I can't see the point in having batteries in stock that are not fully charged ... LSD cells are the best thing since sliced bread (as the saying goes) and no longer do I have to top up every few weeks or even just before use.