Camping Light/EDC

ryanprun

Newly Enlightened
I am just getting into flashlights and picked up an Olight i3s 6 months ago that has never left my keychain. (except when the triangle broke and was replaced with a split ring):laughing:

I am looking for something a little more powerful to take on 3-4 day camping trips. Although my i3s has been working well with an extra battery and the ability to clip to the front of my cap for a headlamp is great :)
Budget ~$70
Open to different battery types: AA/ Cr123/ 18650
I have a rc hobby charger, although I do not have any 18650 yet. Is 18650 too big to clip to a cap?
Good runtimes on Med ~100 lumens ~8hrs

Looking at the Olight S20 or S15, mainly because of the ability to clip to cap and my good experience with i3s.
Any other suggestions? Dedicated headlight or just clip to hat?

Thanks in Advance.

weez82

Enlightened
Smaller the better for edc in my experience. I tend to leave the bigger heavier stuff at home and bring the smaller stuff with me. cr123 as been perfect for edc and AA and 17670 is as big as I'll go for edc. As for the lights, so many quality lights out there. Look through the other "Recommend me a light threads" for the size youre looking for to get an idea of what type of light you want and read reviews on them in the Review forum.

As for my recommendation, foursevens quark line using the xm-l (older models) or xm-l2 (newer models). I use the Quark X 123 and Quark mini123 when backpacking and camping. Great lights. And the size is right for edc. You need to keep in mind that edc means Every Day Carry, the light needs to be comfortable to carry. For me 18650 is just too big. Others do it just fine so you might like it. Just keep in mind that it isnt small