Can I use 3.7v 18650 Batteries in a TK22?

Macatron

Hello! I'm new to the EDC flashlight world, and I just purchased my first awesome flashlight. I got a Fenix TK22, and I absolutely LOVE it! Anyway, I was reading the insert that came with it and noticed that it said to be "cautious" when using 3.7v 18650 batteries. I have two of these batteries that I've been using in my cheap-o flashlights, so I'd planned on using them in my new one. Should I be worried about anything? I don't want to ruin my new TK22. Thanks! :D

Fred_the_red

There is an abundance of counterfeit or inferior quality 18650 batteries on the market which is what the caution warning is referring to. Lithium is a fairly volatile compound so it's best to avoid these crappy batteries. For the uninformed/average consumer, it's not terribly easy to notice the difference so it's always a good thing to ask someone more experienced (like the users of this forum). Can you post a picture of your batteries? We'll be able to tell you whether or not they are decent.

Str8stroke

Welcome to the forum!

I would view the Cautionary warning for your person, not your light. Fred is right on too.

Quick Battery Schooling: I suggest using quality cells. Like Panasonic, Sanyo, Xstar, Fenix, Nitecore, Olight and so on. Efest is another good brand. Look up RTDvapor.com they have some very good stuff. Great people too. The vendors here http://www.cpfclassifieds.com and MTnElectronics. Those should get you going. Oh, get a quality charger too. After these are charged, don't leave them sitting on the charger for storage. Finally, look for Button Top, protected cells. The protected cell are great for new folks. They will keep you from over discharging the cells. Draining them till they are totally dead is not a safe idea.
Hope that helps you a little. Read on my friend and enjoy learning. In this hobby, it never ends.

Macatron

152ou87.jpg
[/IMG]