Cheap Mag 3D mod

Deadshot11

Newly Enlightened
Hi, complete newbie here. Got in on the $5 3D Mag deal and found this site while searching the internet. I've searched through a number of threads, and it seems the 3D is pretty unpopular around here. But anyways...

What's the best CHEAP mod for the 3D? I'm talking a budget of $10-15 here (for a total of a $20 flashlight). Not talking hundreds of lumens. Just a pretty good upgrade from standard 3D. Also, will be using AA nimh, because I have tons of them.

Is it possible to get three cheap 3AA => 1D adapters (which I've searched around and can't find anywhere), and then throw in a 6-cell Xenon bulb? Seems quick, easy, and relatively cheap.

juancho

Enlightened
It may work if you use one dummy battery in your set of nine Nimhs, and for good meassure put a heavy washer bewteen the spring and last adaptor, what you trying to do here is increase the resistance so a 10.8 volts system don't fry your 9 volts bulb.
If you get some old original Electrolumens adaptors that have more resistance than the revision II, you may even get away without using the dummy.
Don't use batteries FRESH from the charger, let them REST for a few hours.

Welcome to CPF,
Juan C.

Greg

Newly Enlightened
For a really easy mod, which isn't that great but gives you better light output is to put 4 c cells into a 3 D body. Works pretty well, and every quick and easy to complete.

Deadshot11

Newly Enlightened
Is there a place to get the 3AA - 1D adapters anymore? I looked at elektrolumens and didn't see anything. Either revision I or revision II. I've seen these mentioned in a number of old searches, but can't seem to find anywhere to buy them.

So running 10.8 volts to a 9 volt bulb isn't considered "overdriving"? That'll just blow the bulb?

Let's say I got two 3AA adapters and one plain 1AA-1D adapter, for a total of 7AA, would the 8.4 volts give too dim a light on the 9 volt bulb?