Choosing an LED strip bundle

robolenno

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to LED strip lights and I'm sure this is a very amateur question, but I'm confused about packages like this that you find on eBay - *link removed

This is 20 meters of 5050 RGB (30 LED/m) which from what I understand would run at roughly 144w... but the power supply and controller box included are only 10A which at 12V DC means they only supply a maximum of 120w, correct? So the adaptor is underpowered for the length of LED strip in this package? I'm seeing bundles like this all over eBay that come with 10A or 12A power supplies and I'm thinking you would want at least a 15A power supply for 20 meters of these particular LED strips. Am I wrong about any of this?

Last edited by a moderator:

chaosdsm

Enlightened
I would NEVER buy LED strip lighting from eBay, but that's just me.

As to the question, for a 144w strip with a 120w power supply, the strip will only run at ~ 120w with dimmer overall output. No problem for the strip, but the power supply being continuously run at maximum capability will create problems, shortened life, excess heat, risk of fire, etc....