Cree Q5 bins...already? Can anyone be sure?

filibuster

Enlightened
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
205
With 100 lumen rebels stacking up nicely with Cree's finest, a Q5 bin on a an earlier release cycle makes perfect sense. Cree needs to keep pushing the limits of the XLamp to keep itself competitive and not give buyers reason to look elsewhere. Depending on that competition with the rebel we can expect to see more of the same in regards to a quicker movement up the Flux Bin chart. Isn't competition wonderful!
 

4sevens

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
2,876
Location
Atlanta, GA
My cutter Q5's came in today (thanks to USPS who works on saturdays).
I quickly slapped it into a P2D CE. Preliminary comparisions show they are
visibly brighter than my Q2's on all levels. I haven't sat down and taken
lux readings. It's bright-er :p
 

Yenster

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
172
Location
Texas, USA
Q5 from DX is visibly dimmer than Q2

I just replaced the Q2 emitter with a Q5 from DX and the light is visibly dimmer. It doesn't even seem as bright as some P4s that I have. I swapped it back out again with the Q2 and the light is now back to its origial brightness. I now have my doubts about these Q5s from DX. I ordered 3 of these and they all seem to be the same. Either these are not really Q5s or they must require a higher front voltage to drive them. Hmmm....

Anyone else have impressions of Q5s from DX?
 

KrisP

Enlightened
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
331
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Re: Q5 from DX is visibly dimmer than Q2

I have a Q5 emitter from Cutter and the Vf is 3.55v @ 350mA which seems very high in comparison to a Seoul P4 that is 3.2v @ 350mA. At 3.55v the Seoul draws 670mA so a much brighter output from the same battery voltage.
 

Yenster

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
172
Location
Texas, USA
Thanks KrisP. Have you had any luck finding a driver (or modding one) to get good results from your Q5? I wasn't expecting to change out the circuits in order to use these Q5s.
 

1 what

Enlightened
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
617
Location
Australia
I have some Q5's from Cutter and DX have dispatched 2 more (on stars) on 17 Sept.
I'll tell you what I think when I get the DX delivery.
 

Yenster

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
172
Location
Texas, USA
Re: Q5 from DX is visibly dimmer than Q2

I just reached 1012 mA by direct driving with an 18650 battery. That battery measured 4.12 Volts right after I measured that current. It seems that might be the eaiest way to reach 1A, just take out the driver circuit.
 

merlocka

Enlightened
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
214
Re: Q5 from DX is visibly dimmer than Q2

I just received a Q5 star from DX. My intended target was to replace the emitter on a REXLIGHT V2.1, which although has a great UI, was never as bright as my DEXLIGHT X.1.

I didn't take any lux readings, but after carefully removal and replacement of the Q5 onto my REX, the REX remained dimmer that the DEX, possibly even dimmer than it was with the original emitter.

So, my unscientific data is telling me that the DX "Q5" just ain't so.

I just replaced the Q2 emitter with a Q5 from DX and the light is visibly dimmer. It doesn't even seem as bright as some P4s that I have. I swapped it back out again with the Q2 and the light is now back to its origial brightness. I now have my doubts about these Q5s from DX. I ordered 3 of these and they all seem to be the same. Either these are not really Q5s or they must require a higher front voltage to drive them. Hmmm....

Anyone else have impressions of Q5s from DX?
 

Nake

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
1,768
Location
Cleve. OH
Today I changed out the P4 in my Eastward YJ U2 Style to a DX Q5. With the P4 lux was 10100, with the Q5 it went up to 12300. A satisfactory improvement.
 

ensile

Enlightened
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
347
can anyone tell me, that with the q5 having a greater forward voltage value than the previous versions, does that mean, lights that would not access modes because of current being too high (certain Li-po's, ion's etc), now will have modes available to them ?
 

Nake

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
1,768
Location
Cleve. OH
can anyone tell me, that with the q5 having a greater forward voltage value than the previous versions, does that mean, lights that would not access modes because of current being too high (certain Li-po's, ion's etc), now will have modes available to them ?

Well I just went and checked my P2D with a R123. It has a Q5 WG from Endeavour's GB. Standard mode showed 5200 lux for L & M and 5400 for H. Turbo showed 10300 lux. :thinking:
 

nanotech17

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 31, 2006
Messages
2,150
Location
N 03°13.884° / E 101°29.329°
Re: Q5 from DX is visibly dimmer than Q2

I just received a Q5 star from DX. My intended target was to replace the emitter on a REXLIGHT V2.1, which although has a great UI, was never as bright as my DEXLIGHT X.1.

I didn't take any lux readings, but after carefully removal and replacement of the Q5 onto my REX, the REX remained dimmer that the DEX, possibly even dimmer than it was with the original emitter.

So, my unscientific data is telling me that the DX "Q5" just ain't so.

I think you have a got a problem with the Rexlight 2.1 driver.
 

BobbyRS

Enlightened
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
268
Re: Q5 from DX is visibly dimmer than Q2

I think you have a got a problem with the Rexlight 2.1 driver.

I believe it has to do with the Rexlight step-up circuit. It uses a 1 AA step-up circuit, a Q4 and Q5 requires a higher operational voltage. Merlocka: what cell are you using; 1 AA or a 14500? If you are using a AA then there may not be any more brightness. Most likely much dimmer. On a 14500 cell, you should get much more brightness.
 

merlocka

Enlightened
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
214
Re: Q5 from DX is visibly dimmer than Q2

I believe it has to do with the Rexlight step-up circuit. It uses a 1 AA step-up circuit, a Q4 and Q5 requires a higher operational voltage. Merlocka: what cell are you using; 1 AA or a 14500? If you are using a AA then there may not be any more brightness. Most likely much dimmer. On a 14500 cell, you should get much more brightness.

Freshly charged AW 14500.
 

m1999

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Messages
8
Location
Wroclaw, Poland
Re: Q5 from DX is visibly dimmer than Q2

I believe it has to do with the Rexlight step-up circuit. It uses a 1 AA step-up circuit, a Q4 and Q5 requires a higher operational voltage. Merlocka: what cell are you using; 1 AA or a 14500? If you are using a AA then there may not be any more brightness. Most likely much dimmer. On a 14500 cell, you should get much more brightness.

There is no information about higher operational voltage for Q5 in Cree XLamp XR-E Datasheet (at Cree website). Where did you find this information?
 

BobbyRS

Enlightened
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
268
Re: Q5 from DX is visibly dimmer than Q2

There is no information about higher operational voltage for Q5 in Cree XLamp XR-E Datasheet (at Cree website). Where did you find this information?

You won't find it from Cree because it has to do with the step-up circuit that the Rexlight uses. A Q4 and Q5 in the Rexlight requires a higher operational voltage for its 1 AA step-up circuit.
(i.e. 3.55V+, compared to a Q2 that requires ~3.3V)

A Q4 and Q5 in the Rexlight should have a greater output on a 14500 cell, but weaker output on a AA cell.

This is the main reason for the Q2 in the new build and not a Q4/Q5.

Great read that may help:
https://www.candlepowerforums.com/posts/1657466&postcount=1

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/posts/1657466&postcount=1

http://dmcleish.com/CPF/PDF/FluxMeasures-7-7-27.pdf

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/169547
 
Top