Design of a maximum-efficacy general purpose LED light

mux

Newly Enlightened
With so many optics buffs on this forum I'd like to ask for some input on designing a LED replacement for my room lighting. Situation sketch:
- I'm an power electronics design engineer, I design AC mains stuff for a living. I'm designing this from scratch, no premade anything. I have access to all the large distributors.
- My 10x10' room is currently adequately lit by a 58W round fluoro tube http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003COHRTS/?tag=cpf0b6-20
- Typically this tube is run at about 2000 lumens, it's rarely run at the full 5klm, but it does need to be able to do this occasionally
- I want to replace this with basically the lowest power alternative possible
- No direct point sources, I like my area lighting
- 5000K CCT is preferred
- This is a hobby project, I want to see how far I can push things. But that also means funds are limited. Sub-$50 in parts.

I am currently thinking of doing something like this:
- Take 6 Cree XM-L2 Neutral White 5000K T6 LEDs
- Stick them on some aluminum profile
- Hang this from the ceiling with LEDs facing towards the (white) ceiling
- Try and find the most efficient AC LED driver circuit to drive this at 700mA nominal (2klumen), 2A max (5klumen)

This way:
- I can benefit from my white latex painted ceiling to do all the area lighting for me, I don't have to worry about optics
- I don't have to worry about thermals; the light is free-hanging and has maximum passive airflow
- I can probably get something near 150lm/W WPE nominal, and still in excess of 115lm/W with the lights on max.