EagleTac SX25L3 MT-G2 P0 or Acebeam K40M MT-G2

prototype_uk

Newly Enlightened
I can't make up my mind which to purchase. I nearly bought a Fenix TK35 Ultimate until I saw the EagleTac SX25L3 MT-G2 P0 & Acebeam K40M MT-G2. I'm looking for a good throw with some flood. Having only owned a 100W Halogen flashlight i'm new to the world of LED's and would like your expert help.

Which one would you go for?

Many Thanks :)

UnderPar

Enlightened
If I am to choose, I would get the Acebeam K40M. Please check the review of this light on the flashlight review thread.

prototype_uk

Newly Enlightened
Yes I have looked at all the reviews and watched the videos but not knowing the manufacturers or quality it is hard to make a choice without testing them for myself.

I have just found the newer revision of the SX25L3 which is the MX25L3 MT-G2, Does anyone have either or both of these lights?

cistallus

Enlightened
I believe that the SX25L3 and MX25L3 are basically the same light, the latter just has a larger head for about twice the throw.

If you are more interested in throw, then the K40 instead of the K40M might be worth considering.

Better yet, for any of these, get the Vinh version. The K40vn dedomed has ridiculous throw but not much flood.

To help choose - which interface would you prefer? The EagleTac uses an electronic side switch for on/off and head twists for levels. The K40M or K40 uses a tailcap forward clicky for on/off, and a magnetic control ring for modes. These are quite different ways of using/controlling a light.

Also, if you get an EagleTac, I'd suggest the kit version, because then you also have an electronic switch on the tailcap so can use either the switch on the side or on the end.

And if you get the K40[M], consider that there's no cutout of the rear flange for the thumb to easily access the switch, but an alternate tailcap is available from a third party in these forums to address that issue.

prototype_uk

Newly Enlightened