Ever have an alkaline leak in a single cell device?

reppans

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm wondering if alkalines get an overly bad rep on the leaking thing. If people put half the care and monitoring into an alkaline, as they do with a lithium primary, or Li-ion, perhaps an Alk would never leak.

I'm curious if the primary cause of a leaking Alkaline is a reverse charge situation - the same thing that causes Lithium primaries to explode. From my understanding (and I'm not an expert) when using batts in a multi-cell series configuration, one cell will always drain faster than the other(s). Continuing to run the device will eventually drive the weakest cell so low as to actually reverse its polarity, and it starts charging in reverse. The greater the cell imbalance, the greater the power and potential for an explosion (lithium primary) or violent leak (alkaline). Even if the device is not being used, parasitic drain and self-discharge will eventually do the same thing, although I believe Alks are much more sensitive to minor reverse charges.

So if you were to only use an alkaline in single cell config (let's skip the low lumens argument for now), as many advise for Lithium and Li-ion, thereby removing the potential for reverse charging, would the device be safe from leaking?

Now like many others, I've seen dozens of Alks leak, but as I think about it, most AA devices are multi-cell and I know were mine neglected, ie, run down until they are dead, dead. So I just took a walk around my house looking for all the single cell AA devices and inspected their battery compartments. They were mostly all decade(s) old wall clocks or travel alarms, and interestingly, all had pristine battery compartments with no evidence of leaking.... and I know batts in these device would have been run to dead.... every time.

So how about you guys.. ever had a Alk leak in a single cell device?

alpg88

Flashlight Enthusiast
i had alkalines leak in their blister pack, without any load.

NCF8710