HDS HDS Systems EDC # 18

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

blueo8

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
22
After playing with it, and watching Thor's videos and reading the PDF and looking at the instructions, it seems I have figured a ot out. There are 4 presets rotary settings on the counter clockwise side. Strobe or tactical as two on the clockwise side. And a double click which is a rotary free setting. Triple clickies g while the light is on is not any setting I have been able to change, but I think I can get used to this.Does this sound right or am I missing some higher function?

Oh, I have no access to setting rotary on the double click setting.
 
F

FroggyTaco

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,145
Location
Central Ca
After playing with it, and watching Thor's videos and reading the PDF and looking at the instructions, it seems I have figured a ot out. There are 4 presets rotary settings on the counter clockwise side. Strobe or tactical as two on the clockwise side. And a double click which is a rotary free setting. Triple clickies g while the light is on is not any setting I have been able to change, but I think I can get used to this.Does this sound right or am I missing some higher function?

Oh, I have no access to setting rotary on the double click setting.

Those parameters are correct for a tactical rotary but not an executive rotary programming. So I would assume you have a tactical rotary.

On a executive programmed rotary the single click is "rotary" operation & 24 different output levels dependent on the position of the dial/knob.

A double click is by default a SOS flash I believe but can be also programmed to any of the 24 output levels or strobe.

A triple click is by default strobe but can be also programmed to any of the 24 output levels or SOS flash.

A click, press hold is max output which also can be programmed to any of the 24 output levels or SOS flash or strobe.

You can also "move" the rotary operation from single to to double click or triple click as well.

You can also 6 click from off & turn the light into a momentary max output only tactical light essentially mimicking a 6P or a Malkoff MD2 without a hi/lo ring. However to exit this mode you must remove the battery & let it sight for like 5 minutes to reset the memory. All the other programmed options remain.

You can also turn momentary mode on & then you can use any of the 24 light outputs in a momentary fashion instead of click on, click off.

That's the bulk of it but that is also more options than just about everyone else along with good efficiency & a heady duty build with a lifetime warranty.

Edit: You can also turn on a 10 minute timer that will turn off the light for you if you accidentally turn it on in your pocket or bag but it also blinks several times before turning off so you have a warning & you click once to reset the timer if you don't want it shutting off.
 
Last edited:
B

blueo8

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
22
Can you program any rotaryn to act like any other rotary? IE a tactical can be programmed to an executive.I can't seem to make the click press hold on my T1B 325 change and the triple click also seems to not change. I only seem to have a click on and a double click.
 
scout24

scout24

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
8,700
Location
Penn's Woods
Henry can re-program a Tactical Rotary to an Executive Rotary. It can't be done at the user level.
 
B

blueo8

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
22
OK. So I'm guessing I'm not crazy. I don't seem to have a triple click preset or a click press hold. It is a great set up. I just thought I was losing my mind. I can make my clicky do everything I want, but I thought I was losing my.touch.
 
P

PrinceValorum

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Jan 16, 2016
Messages
14
This past weekend I sold my final two MODDOO clips to two other great members and my old HDS clickie that I carried for over a year to a new member that will now be a life long member of our club I'm sure.

Hey guys,

I guess I'm now a new member of the club. :)

Really liking this light so far, especially after becoming more acquainted with the UI. I'm sure there's a Rotary in my future somewhere.

TIAjZpOh.jpg


One question about the warranty, if anyone knows, how does it work for cases where the light is no longer in the hands of the original owner? I don't anticipate any issues, and I know Henry's site states the warranty only extends to the original owner, but is that a strictly enforced rule?

How often does the rubber button cover crack?

The specs list the switch as sealed, is it impervious to water even if the button boot should crack?
 
Hondo

Hondo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,533
Location
SE Michigan
Henry has always repaired his lights no matter how many owners.

I don't think you are sealed at the tail end if the boot is perforated, it is the seal.
 
T

trojansteel

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Messages
161
Location
Philly
Retracted - found user manual online.
 
Last edited:
B

Bullzeyebill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 21, 2003
Messages
12,166
Location
CA
Actually, on the older model HDS's (RA) clickies you have the first to third levels, burst and 10 seconds later on burst it drops one level below burst, and stays there till that level runs out of fuel. So, five levels. Probably works the same with square thread HDS clickies, except you have 40 seconds of burst. Lost one of my square thread HDS's, and the other one is missing, and I did not not check out 40 second burst for the drop off.
 
scout24

scout24

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
8,700
Location
Penn's Woods
Bill- Yep, there is a 40 second burst at top level, then a drop of one level until the battery starts shutting things down. Any time after the 40 second stepdown, you can press the tailcap again for full brightness for another 40 seconds, and again it will step down the one level. This can be turned off in the options menu, giving full brightness as long as possible, at the expense of runtime. I find half the time in actual use I miss seeing the stepdown occur, so I leave it enabled for a bit more runtime.
 
T

trojansteel

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Messages
161
Location
Philly
Just ordered my first HDS: LE, Hcri 200 lm, sapphire, sbr, svr bzl, blk bdy, 18680, flush btn, blk clip

The wait begins.....
 
scout24

scout24

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
8,700
Location
Penn's Woods
Actually, the Tactical Rotary I sent had the 12 levels taking up half the tail rotation, strobe, and full on taking up the other half. It came back to me with the 24 levels of output taking up the full tailcap rotation...

Correct.

You get the full range of the HDS model but over 12 brightness levels instead of 24.
 
F

FroggyTaco

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,145
Location
Central Ca
Actually, the Tactical Rotary I sent had the 12 levels taking up half the tail rotation, strobe, and full on taking up the other half. It came back to me with the 24 levels of output taking up the full tailcap rotation...

Did you have a tactical rotary reprogrammed to executive programming?

What I was trying to say was the Tactical Rotary has the full 325 lumens but over 12 output levels in the first half of tail rotation & strobe & full output taking up the other half whereas the Executive Rotary(EDC Rotary) has 325 lumens with 24 levels of output over the full range of tail rotation.
 
Hondo

Hondo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,533
Location
SE Michigan
Right, he did, but scout was referring to the question of a Tac being reprogrammed to an executive Rotary, where you seemed to assume it still would only have 12 levels. Because the switch in the Tac still has the same contacts as the Exec, it has all of the same potential, to detect 24 discrete positions, so it is just firmware to get it to a 24 level Exec, as scout had done.
 
recDNA

recDNA

Flashaholic
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
8,752
Right, he did, but scout was referring to the question of a Tac being reprogrammed to an executive Rotary, where you seemed to assume it still would only have 12 levels. Because the switch in the Tac still has the same contacts as the Exec, it has all of the same potential, to detect 24 discrete positions, so it is just firmware to get it to a 24 level Exec, as scout had done.
Oh that's excellent news. There are more tacs than regulars at dealers right now. Good to know it can be reprogrammed if I hate it.
 
F

FroggyTaco

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,145
Location
Central Ca
Right, he did, but scout was referring to the question of a Tac being reprogrammed to an executive Rotary, where you seemed to assume it still would only have 12 levels. Because the switch in the Tac still has the same contacts as the Exec, it has all of the same potential, to detect 24 discrete positions, so it is just firmware to get it to a 24 level Exec, as scout had done.

Ahh.. I see the confusion now. I agree with both of you. I figured a 12 step tactical became a 24 step executive and vice versa.

The tactical just assigns 6 steps to strobe & 6 steps to full output.
 
Tre_Asay

Tre_Asay

Enlightened
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
398
Location
Caldwell Idaho
Just ordered my first HDS: LE, Hcri 200 lm, sapphire, sbr, svr bzl, blk bdy, 18680, flush btn, blk clip

The wait begins.....

You might end up getting it at the same time as me... I ordered almost exactly the same light (silver clip and rotary) a month ago... Lets hope that they don't run out of other parts while waiting for the high CRI LEDs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

John_Galt
Replies
2K
Views
334K
DM51
nbp
Replies
5K
Views
843K
Hogokansatsukan
Hogokansatsukan
Hogokansatsukan
  • Locked
147 148 149
Replies
3K
Views
365K
Hogokansatsukan
Hogokansatsukan
Hogokansatsukan
  • Locked
135 136 137
Replies
3K
Views
279K
Hogokansatsukan
Hogokansatsukan
Hogokansatsukan
  • Locked
110 111 112
Replies
2K
Views
282K
Hogokansatsukan
Hogokansatsukan

Latest posts

Top