Is there a law of diminishing returns when it comes to lumens?

realdog4

Newly Enlightened
Forgive me for my ignorance, I am new to LED lights. I don't even know if I should refer to the collection of flashlights as a hobby? After all, many depend on certain lighting tools as necessity for a profession. Now to my point:

I recently was in the market for a new flashlight. I read forum posts, watched videos and suffered a bit of sticker shock.

I saw many flashlights with varying lumens. I was interested in two flashlights. One was 600 lumens while the other was 960.

Is there a certain threshold where the increase in lumens becomes minimal?

Could you easily notice the difference from the above referenced figures or are they a true measure of luminosity? (assuming all other components are of equal quality)

Thank you for your time.

archimedes

Flashaholic

:welcome:

Perceived brightness is logarithmic, not linear .... There are many threads here that discuss the technical factors in great detail (the search box on this forum should be helpful in this regard). To summarize very simply, however, it may take anywhere from 4x-10x lumens to "appear" twice as bright, with all else held equal.

TexLite

Enlightened
Another thing to consider is regulation. Try to find a runtime/output graph of the 2 lights in question. It may well be that the 900lm model might drop in output after a few minutes and end up closer to the 600lm light, if it were better regulated.

-Michael

Sent from my iPad using Candlepowerforums

kyhunter1

Flashlight Enthusiast