Need Info on SF G2Z LOTC Tail Switch Assembly

Illuminated

Enlightened
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
886
Location
Tipp City, Ohio
Does anyone know if the complete LOTC tail switch assembly can be ordered separately from SF? Part Number? Cost?

I tried to find it on their webite but didn't see it.

Thanks - John
 

Size15's

Flashaholic
Joined
Aug 29, 2000
Messages
18,415
Location
Kettering, England
Hi John

No, it can not be ordered as an individual TailCap as far as I'm aware. The G2Z's LOTC doesn't fit on any G2's I have anyway.

If your G2Z's LOTC is broken I'm sure that SureFire will replace it for you.

The good news is that SureFire are phasing in a LOTC on their G2 this year.

It would be awesome for them to make this LOTC (for the G2) a "Z component" so that people can upgrade the G2's they already have.

Al
 

Illuminated

Enlightened
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
886
Location
Tipp City, Ohio
Hi AL -

I recently looked at a G2Z at a local gun shop, and it *looked* like it might fit the G2. Is it just too long to screw down far enough to make proper contact before hitting the G2 body?

I have a nice G2 with LED head conversion that would work well with a 2-stage tail switch, but the G2's taicap is just too short to incorporate a MC2ES and a jam nut for LOTC feature.

Oh well, I guess it doesn't matter if I can't buy one.

Thanks for the reply - and have a good weekend!

John
 

sween1911

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
2,036
Location
Pennsylvania
Far be it from me to disagree with Al on SF stuff /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/str.gif, but I bought 3 G2Z LOTC's for G2s, one for mine, and two for others' G2s (that were Xmas presents from me. One for my best friend and one for my dad). I just called SF direct and said "I want to order the tailcap from a G2Z." Not sure about part#. They work fine. The look is not as "clean" as the stock G2 cap (there's a bit more space between the cap and the body, like where a lanyard ring would go), but the lock-out adds to the utility of such a great light. Some combinations of individual G2 bodies and G2Z caps are a tad looser than I like, but that's easily fixed with an additional O-ring, a-la the millenium series. YMMV.
 

Size15's

Flashaholic
Joined
Aug 29, 2000
Messages
18,415
Location
Kettering, England
That's good information.
Based on the three G2Z's and multiple G2's I have they do not work.

It is not an ideal (100% interchangeability) situation though (which is a same)
 

nikon

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 5, 2004
Messages
1,164
Location
Another time, another place.
[ QUOTE ]
sween1911 said:
They work fine. The look is not as "clean" as the stock G2 cap (there's a bit more space between the cap and the body, like where a lanyard ring would go)

[/ QUOTE ]


I agree. The LOTC from my G2Z works properly on both of my G2's.

3Gs.jpg
 

Latest posts

Top