Need reading (flash)light for visually impaired

scs_in_nj

Newly Enlightened
My 94-yr-old aunt in a nursing home wants a handheld or close-range reading (flash)light. She has macular degeneration, is legally blind and only sees out of one eye. She wants to read a book at night and needs better illumination than provided by overhead fluorescents and side task lamp. She does almost everything from bed and just has a cart table to put things on. She asked me to get her a 4D flashlight lantern, but I thought that could be rather cumbersome to hold or use for any length of time. Any ideas?? I understand that with macular degeneration, contrast is important. I'm a newbie here but have searched thru the posts and did not find an answer for a comparable situation. Price is a consideration - Max $40? Durability, ease of use, perhaps easily obtained batteries also considerations. Things get moved around on her cart a lot and things can fall... Thanks...

yoyoman

Flashlight Enthusiast
There are 2 AA lights I can suggest. Get her a pack of Energizer Lithium primaries - better capacity and they won't leak.

The FourSevens Atom AA is pure flood - a mule type light. It is a progressive twisty - tighten to L and keep tightening to H. Magnet on the tail so she can stick on things and it won't get lost (so easily). If she can handle the twisty, a good choice.

The ThruNite T10 Aluminum is an AA light with a reverse clickie. 3 modes: Very Low, Medium and High. I believe you can order this light with a neutral white emitter, which might be better than a cold white emitter.

There are several reviews of these lights on CPF and you can learn more and decide if they meet your needs.

Fragarach

Newly Enlightened
If she is reading consider a head lamp ? that way she can hold the book with two hands or pick up a cup without having to put something down ?