new here with intro and light recommendation

jbh5277

Newly Enlightened
hey guys, i was told this was the best flashlight place on the net. though not new to flashlights(as i have many) just looking for other lights to break the cycle of buying streamlights from the tool dealer(only carries streamlight). i'm a mechanic for a large trucking company and use a light quite often and more often than not it's only for a few minutes. they also get dropped, slid on the floor, various fluids spilt on them, and very rarely ran over by a truck. so i really need a tough light. heck maybe even a couple one for work', one to keep in my pocket, and maybe one for the car. been looking at several brands but mainly fenix other brands welcome. i have filled out the recommendation check list for an idea of what i'm looking for. thanks in advance Adam.

1) How would you prefer to purchase the light?
____I will be mail-ordering or buying online, so this doesn't matter.

2) Budget: An easy question, but you may change your mind after answering the rest! :)

$50-100 ish per

3) Format:
I want a flashlight.

4) Flashlight-specific format/size:
Every day carry medium (4-7 inches).

5) Emitter/Light source:
LED (known for efficiency, longevity, and compactness)

6) Manufacturer:
I would consider getting a light that is pieced together (for example a "host" or flashlight body from one manufacturer, and a "drop-in" emitter from another source). Under the right circumstances, this path can provide more options to the consumer to meet specific needs, and can often be easily upgradeable as technology improves.

7) What battery type do you want to use?
cr123, AA or 18650

8) How much genuine out the front (OTF) light do you want/need? Sometimes you can have too much light (trying to read up close up with a 100 lumen light is impossible).

edc - 100-200
work - 150ish
car - sky's the limit but around 3-400 max
adjustable brightness is a plus on all