noob modding x5 with cree need help

flashlightpoor

Newly Enlightened
I have some experience with electronics but I am not sure I understand all of the product descriptions at the sandwhich shoppe. Do I want a badboy or a nexgen?
I have an x5 in the freezer going through its second pop cylce and I want to know which board to to buy if I want to mount a cree and run it at 750ma. I may cut the x5 down to a 1x123 ala P1-CED, but I haven't decided that yet.

I plan to fabricate a reflector for the cree but I noticed some crees have optics on them? do they all come with them and some people just pop them off? Finally, I don't see dimensions for the PCBs listed at the shoppe, how do I know they will fit in the X5 tube? I have thought about threading the other side of the x5 and fabricating a totally new turbo head, but I think that will be rev 2.

thanks for any help.

Illum

Flashaholic
of all the modding platform to choose from, why the X5? a light thats not only difficult to open and modify...AND its made for 5mm leds. If your looking for inova-class design and durability, but wish to improve on the regulator circuit, theres other platforms suitable for your application.
Even with CREE optics, shining the beam through 5 5mm LED holes is :sick2:

flashlightpoor

Newly Enlightened
fair question. I had a green X5 which I found to be pretty useless. The green color renders certain colors invisible.

But I am not going to use the originial X5 head. I was only going to use the tube and switch. I am going to fabricate a new head/reflector for the tube.

I suppose I have AA minimag, and others I could try first, but I like the old X5 body with the grooves (not flat sides).