old chargers + Eneloops? revive EvRdy 2700AA?

Wurkkos

auroreboreale

Newly Enlightened
Hi All!

I use up to 10 AA Nimh cells and 8 AAA Nimh cells on my LED red + amber bicycle winkie lights and shoulder-season 4xAA Nitehawk LED white helmet light.

I bike to work and do errands for up to 3hrs in conditions of total darkness and in temperatures as low as -40C.

I use a blend of no-name AA and AAA Nimh cells and some of the Ever-not-so-Ready 2700mah AA cells, some of which are quite dead.

I carry 2xAA + 2xAAA alkaline cells as back-up batteries in a 35mm film can on my bike. Sometimes it is too cold to risk changing them outside, so I want reliability!

I am an artist with limited means, so the chargers that I have are a circa 1999 Rayovac PS3, an 8 cell capacity AA, AAA, C, D, Nimh/Alkaline/Ni-cad charger, and circa 2005 slide-open clam-shell design Ever-Reacy CHDC-CA 4AA/AAA nimh charger---which I use for travel internationally as it is 100-240V capable.

Both have green LED charging lights that go out when the charge is completed.

Charge times for Eneloop AA's are about 10 hours on the Ever-ready clam-shell charger, and 14 hours on the PS3.

My question is this: which charger is best to use with the Eneloops, and will either of them hurt the long-term use of the Eneloops?

As well, is it worth it to get one of the lower-end Maha chargers? Would the MAHA chargers bring back to life the not-so-Ever-Ready AA'S?

I am just barely capable of using a cheap multi-meter to check whether the NIMH cells are in the 'green zone' before use! So no chargers which require a slide-rule to use!

As an artist this would have to come out of the granola budget!

On the other hand, it gets dark here for 19 hours every night in December, so lights are critical, as are batteries!

enlightenment!