Penlight for ER Nurse pt exams and EDC: Ready Made and Mod Advice

knnthsmthii

Newly Enlightened
I'm thinking of buying building a penlight. I have a couple of old shells that will hold AAA's and AA's. Does anyone have advice in this area? Where [not] to buy; What [not] to buy; Pitfalls etc. I'm shooting to build something useful for pt exams (I'm an ER Nurse) as well as EDC - w/ 3 modes: low, med, and hi. Low = < 1 lmn [or least < 3]. Med = hopefully < 50 lmns. Hi > 200 [or at very least 150]. Natural White LED.

Thank you for any advice!!​

LeanBurn

Flashlight Enthusiast
How old are we talking about? LED advancements happen almost yearly so 2016 would have some great offerings like the ThruNite Ti4 NW for ~$25 on Amazon has:

-Firefly(0.3 lumens, 137hours)
-Low (24 lumens, 12hours)
-High (252 lumens, 51minutes)

Kudzu

Newly Enlightened
I know that many medical professionals value an emitter with high CRI (color rendering index), which shows far more natural-looking colors than average LED's. The Nichia 219B is a great choice of emitter in that vein. Maybe consider something like this Manker E01 (aka Astrolux A01).

Downside of the 219B is typically lower outputs, so you're not likely to get the 150-200 lumens you're asking for on a AAA, but it might be worth the trade-off. And of course you'll be carrying a second light with more power anyway … ;)

There's also the BLF 348, which is a single-mode AAA/10440 light with a 219B. Probably wouldn't meet your needs though.

PFlexPro, which makes/mods really great lights, offers a Convoy S2+ with a 219B in the 18350 size. That would give you lots of power in a relatively small package (but not a penlight, certainly) and your choice among 22 mode groups. I'd say that's your best choice unless you're set on AA/AAA. Max would be ~300 lumens.

Crazyeddiethefirst

Flashlight Enthusiast