Prime / Prime Pro. Every Day Carry Lights.

ArmyTek

Enlightened
Manufacturer
Joined
Apr 11, 2011
Messages
723
Is the honeycomb diffuser lens option offered on any prime models ?? BTW sorry bout the multi post issue here I've got a hair trigger on the send button.

Old versions of Partner was designed with a honeycomb diffuser. We removed this diffuser in order to make the beam of Partner/Prime more focused. You can easily change optic yourself in Armytek Prime Reg.
 
Last edited:

The_Driver

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
1,170
Location
Germany
Old versions of Partner was designed with a honeycomb diffuser. We removed this diffuser in order to make the beam of Partner/Prime more focused. You can easily change optic yourself in Armytek Prime Reg.

Which optic from which manufacturer do you use?
 

SubLGT

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 18, 2013
Messages
1,178
Location
Idaho, USA
Well, I received my Prime C1 Pro V3 XP-L (Warm)...This is my first Armytek light and I have to say I am very impressed with it so far, everything works perfectly….The indicator beacon works perfect too. It shuts off after 2 blinks on the 2 moonlight/firefly modes(Actually it still blinks but very, very dimly….The body of the light is well machined and has very nice "real" Type III anodizing that is much better then many brands. ...The only flaw I can really find with this light is the clip. The groves it sits in on the flashlight body are spaced too far apart and this allows the clip to sit crooked. Either they need to be moved closer together or the clip needs to be widened. It could also use a ramp to stop it from getting caught on your pocket when clipping it on….

I have the same flashlight and agree with your observations. I solved the loose clip problem be inserting the lanyard ring as a spacer.

My sample has begun to experience main LED flicker when the flashlight is set on a solid surface tail down. Set it down when in the higher output modes with anything more than a very gentle touch, and the LED will flicker once from the mild shock. My XP-L equipped Wizard Pro does the same.
 

Tachead

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3,872
Location
Northwestern Ontario, Canada
I have the same flashlight and agree with your observations. I solved the loose clip problem be inserting the lanyard ring as a spacer.

My sample has begun to experience main LED flicker when the flashlight is set on a solid surface tail down. Set it down when in the higher output modes with anything more than a very gentle touch, and the LED will flicker once from the mild shock. My XP-L equipped Wizard Pro does the same.

Mine doesnt do this no matter how hard I bang it. I am running 18350 flat tops which may help. It is probably due to the magnet in the tail pulling on the battery combined with the weight of the battery pulling it away from the positive contact. Its too bad they didnt make it a duel spring design. Try using a q-tip with some isopropyl alcohol on it to clean the positive contact on the light and your cells. You could also stretch the spring a bit.

Edit: what batteries are you using?
 
Last edited:

Tachead

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3,872
Location
Northwestern Ontario, Canada
I'm using an AW unprotected button top 18350.

Ok, I thought maybe a loose fitting 16340 could be exaggerating the problem but, that's not the case. They really should have included a battery sleeve for using 16340's and CR123a's. I am going to get one for mine. Try cleaning the positive contact if you havent already. Maybe it is something else like a bad solder joint though. Mine doesn't do it at all and since I talked to you I tried my best to repeat it. I am using Keeppower High Drain INR18350 flat tops(black) in mine. If all else fails, send her back to AT. It only has to go to Canada now and is pretty "hassle free" lol.
 

SubLGT

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 18, 2013
Messages
1,178
Location
Idaho, USA
Cleaned all the contact surfaces and treated with De-oxit, and charged the battery. Still get the LED flicker from mild mechanical shock on the tail. The irony is this Prime Pro was a warranty replacement 10 months ago for a Prime Pro that would completely shut down from a very mild impact. I have lost my enthusiasm for Armytek flashlights. But at least shipping to Canada will be cheaper and faster than my last experience.
 

ArmyTek

Enlightened
Manufacturer
Joined
Apr 11, 2011
Messages
723
That is not what Iasked.
You wrote above that the optic is easy to replace. How can we replace it if we don't know what to replace it with?
Which manufacturer?
Please note, if you replace the optics, it will not be a warranty case. All information about optics you can read on armytek.com.
 

eraursls1984

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
1,434
Location
Tallahassee, FL.
Old versions of Partner was designed with a honeycomb diffuser. We removed this diffuser in order to make the beam of Partner/Prime more focused. You can easily change optic yourself in Armytek Prime Reg.

Which optic from which manufacturer do you use?

Please note, if you replace the optics, it will not be a warranty case. All information about optics you can read on armytek.com.
So how can he easily change the optics?
 

Woods Walker

The Wood is cut, The Bacon is cooked, Now it’s tim
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
5,434
Location
New England woods.
Well finally ordered the C2 plus extra A1 body for my Primes. I think there are 3 Prime about the house though one is getting tossed into the BOB. I bet the runtimes should be rather long using a 3500 mAh over the 700-900 mAh of the smaller lithium ions I am using in the C1 and A1. Just gotta remember not to feed the low voltage heads 2 lithium or lithium ion primary batteries.
 

vicv

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
1,399
Location
Southern Ontario
I asked this in another thread and it wasn't answered so I'll try here since it pertains to this line of lights. Particularly the v3
The a1 prime lists turbo as 500 lumen for 50 min. I'm sorry that's not possible. The led will need about 1.2A for that output. Triple that for an eneloop due to boosting voltage 3 times that 3.6A. That's a lot of boost so there's going to be inefficiencies. Maybe 4A draw. For a 2ah battery that's 30 minutes or less. And since the light shares the same head and driver as the c1 does that mean the output goes up with a 14500 to the c1 output level? And in that case how can there be low voltage protection on a 14500 when the light must presume there's a cr123 cell in there. The manual doesn't show how to change battery type so I presume that can't be changed in the non pro model. But the specifications also state there's low voltage protection for non protected lithium ion batteries. So specs seem quite off
Second problem I see is turbo is 500 lumens. But the highest main is 90 lumens. That's a huge jump. Why isn't there a ~200 lumen high mode. Especially since an eneloop isn't going to support turbo for very long once the cell can't support turbo anymore it would be nice to have a mode higher than 90 lumen as a normal high mode. Same as the partner. From looking at the site the tiara mode spacing is perfect. Or the v2 prime. I think the v3 prime is poorly executed
 
Last edited:
Top