Proper LED luminaire/fixture?

brc7

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
5
Hello,

First of all, i am new to this board and found it helpful so far. Anyway, i need to make a lighting design for my graduation project with Dialux. The only way to replace the lamps in the luminaires is to use Osram lamp plug-in, yet i couldn't find a proper ies file for a luminaire which has E27 base (probably with 2 or more sockets to get higher lumens) and suitable for LEDs (not making it get hot, not closed etc. ) If someone helps me with this situation, my life will be saved !

Thanks.
 

LEDninja

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
4,896
Location
Hamilton Canada
:welcome:

Most of the latest bulbs in North America are designed to the old incandescent bulb sizes - A19, PAR16/20/30/38. So any fixture that can take an incandescent bulb and is also open for ventilation should work.

The Philips 12W Endura is 800 lumens very close to a 60W incan.

EDIT
The only way to replace the lamps in the luminaires is to use Osram lamp plug-in, yet i couldn't find a proper ies file for a luminaire which has E27 base (probably with 2 or more sockets to get higher lumens) and suitable for LEDs (not making it get hot, not closed etc.)
That seems to indicate you are somewhere in Europe, probably Germany.
The fixtures in North America are E26 (not E27 though most bulbs will fit.)
The problem is most E26 fixtures are only rated 115V and your mains are 230V.
So I withdraw my earlier comments.
 
Last edited:

Harold_B

Enlightened
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
410
If you Google "E27 base IES download" there are many sites that come up. Most just have plots but many have downloadable IES files. If all you need is an IES file for an A19 LED bulb such as the Philips I can point you to a website with that info as well, just send me a message (if I get more than a couple requests I'll just post the link here later).
 

brc7

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
5
thank you so much for all your comments. yes, in my country 230 V is used. Anyway, the main problem is to find the right fixtures that i can use with Osram LEDs.

Harold_B, it would be great if i could have Philips files! But how can i import bulb files into dialux? or, you mean fixtures with philips LED bulbs in it?
Ies file of a luminaire which provides indirect or semi direct lighting would be also perfect. (or a LED fixture)

Thank you again.
 

Harold_B

Enlightened
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
410
I had supplied ray trace files to this site when a friend did some tear down studies: http://www.sevengens.com/id67.html

The files are available (free by the way) for a few different lamps and various manufacturers. they were generated using SolidWorks with OptisWorks add-in. There is also an excel file showing the measured spectrum data for a few of the lamps. I am not familiar with Dialux software but if you can import txt files into your spectrum editor then you can create accurate spectrum files for your lamps as well.
 

brc7

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
5
I had supplied ray trace files to this site when a friend did some tear down studies: http://www.sevengens.com/id67.html

The files are available (free by the way) for a few different lamps and various manufacturers. they were generated using SolidWorks with OptisWorks add-in. There is also an excel file showing the measured spectrum data for a few of the lamps. I am not familiar with Dialux software but if you can import txt files into your spectrum editor then you can create accurate spectrum files for your lamps as well.


thanks for your help, but i do need to use lamps in an existing luminaire to be able to calculate the costs etc. Also i dont know how to create or design a luminare/lamp with a software :(
 
Top