Re: Suggestions for Budget Light [ 2 'AA', or 3 'AAA'] ~ $40 ?

Marc999

Newly Enlightened

Hi guys,

I'm new to the world of flashlights, yet am taking an interest in starting off with a budget light to see if it's a hobby I'd like to get into ;)

Currently own: Mini-mag 2 AA LED flashlight [high/low/strobe/sos]. Also some big *** C and D size incandescent maglites, yet I'm really not keen on lugging these around.

I have been eyeballing the shiningbeam website and come across a couple of interest:

Jetbeam BA20 XP-G R5 or the ITP SA2 XP-G R5.
[I'm quite tied between these 2]

Preferred:
(1) AA or AAA
(2) flood takes precedence over throw I think [i.e. galavanting around the backyard, going for walks, or camping uses]. I'd prefer to see as much around my immediate vicinity, rather than a few hundred yards away.
(3) 2 or more modes [low, high etc].
(4) click or twist doesn't matter.
(5) ~ $40, pre-shipping.

I also took a look at the Rominsen lights, but didn't find a multi-mode one. I like the idea of having low beam. I'm intrigued by ITP's digital adjustment UI, but am certainly open to any other suggestions based on ownership.

Also, where to purchase? Aside from shiningbeam, other websites you'd suggest?

cheers,
Marc

Last edited:

trooplewis

Newly Enlightened

Check out solarforce-sales dot com as well, there are several choices there in 3xAAA or 2xAA. You can pick up a L2i (3xAAA) body for about $10, and a nice 3-mode XP-G for $14.
Just make sure the voltage requirement of the dropin matches the batteries you will be using, so get the .8-4.2v one, preferably with 3-modes.

Romisens are decent lights, check out lighthound dot com as well for more stuff you might like. The Cheap chinese web sites like Manafont and Deal extreme have tons of lights that would fit your needs, on a budget scale, but you'll have to wait 2 or 3 weeks for delivery.