Recommend a 1AA light for wife?

JJohn

Enlightened
Well, this last camping trip my wife has finally seen the light (pun intended). We arrived at our site after dark and setting up at night was only possible because I had a couple lights with me. She said, "You know these really are nice. Can you pick out one for me?" She was using my HDS U-60 but later switch to a modded Arc AAA, because it didn't fit in her pocket well.

Here is what she wants and I have no direct experience with anything that fits the bill:

1) AA battery - I have only used 123's and AAA for years. Oh well. (We'll use NiMH and L91's)

2) Small as possible (yet still 1AA)

3) Easy one handed operation

4) Two or three outputs levels but,

5) Must be a simple intuitive interface (she thought the U60 was too complex, "was it double-click, triple click, or double-click-hold again to make it really bright?")

6) I insist it is well made, efficient, and reliable. I also hate noticeable PWM flicker. So if it uses PWM it should have a high switching frequency. Cost is not a big driver but I would prefer not to exceed that of my HDS U60. She also complained that the beam of my mod was "too wide and getting in her eyes when trying to shine it forward". She liked the HDS beam.

Thanks, I appreciate any help,

John

Last edited:

xiaowenzu

Banned
http://www.dansdata.com/peakled2.htm

Peak Led Solutions: are one of the best AA flashlight you can get.
3peaks280.jpg

PKEAA1HHK.jpg

The final photo shows The Peak LED Kilmanjaro AA Hard Anodized has a lightweight aluminum body and "key-ring" style. The "key-ring" style uses a detachable part that may be unscrewed from the battery compartment. This makes it easy to use the light without keys attached, and allows the light to stand on end. Expect 8 hrs full brightness, 4 additional hrs at 50 percent brightness

you can get it at:
http://www.brightguy.com/products/Kilmanjaro_AA,_Single_LED,_HA,_KEY_CHAIN,_High_Power.php

aml

Newly Enlightened