GhostReaction

Flashlight Enthusiast
I m getting another watch.

Should it be the :
-Rolex Submariner
-Omega Planet Ocean
-Breitling Superocean
-Panerai Luminor Marina

It will need to last till I m old and be handed down to my grand children ;)

EricMack

Flashlight Enthusiast
GR - buy what YOU really like. One of them must speak to you more than the others. They are all fine watches. Your grandchildren will cherish it coming from you even if it is just a Timex. Its most important that it serves your needs, and besides, you may well get hooked on mechanical watches and *need* to get several, I know I got hooked for quite a while. Feel free to PM me, I can answer specific questions for you. :)

GhostReaction

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Omega PO in orange really screams at me for attention, but i m still considering.
Among these watches which will most likely to drop much in value after say 40 years down the road?

John N

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have a Rolex GMT Master II and I suggest the Omega. Nothing wrong with the Rolex, but I think the Omega is the same quality but at about half the price.

FWIW, they make an Omega Seamaster in titanium, which sounds pretty trick. I also like the Seamaster GMT with the white dial. Very classy.

-john

Edit: Regarding the value - my guess is the Rolex would retain resale value better, but I don't think that is a useful way to look at it.

Last edited:

EricMack

Flashlight Enthusiast
John N said:
Edit: Regarding the value - my guess is the Rolex would retain resale value better, but I don't think that is a useful way to look at it.

John - I certainly believe holding its value is a facet of the equation which should be considered. Perhaps not the most important factor, but not unimportant either. My son will probably appreciate that his old man had the forsight to seek out a Red Submariner :naughty:

helios

Newly Enlightened
Great choice in watches!