Royal blue Luxeons?

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
Been kicking around the idea of building a Lux3 light in either royal blue or uh... regular blue. For some reason, I'm drawn to the royal blue version. I'm not so much interested in flourescing anything as I have a few UV lights, but I guess I'm wanting some reassurance that the royal blue Luxeon puts out a usable range of light.

I have no specific intended use for this light... just wanting something different, I suppose.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

L

LITEmania

3W RoyalBlue in Q-III
WebColumn_15_6~_beam.jpg

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
Also, and I'm sure this is a total newb question, but why do they rate the royal blue Luxeons in mW and all the rest in lumens? Have something to do with being too low of a wavelength to measure in an integrating sphere?

Also, looking over the specs on royal blue vs 'blue' vs cyan, it's amazing the difference in rated lumens.

Cyan (and green) is 64 lumens @ 700mA or 80 lumens @ 1000mA
Blue is 23 lumens @ 700mA or 30 lumens @ 1000mA
Royal is 340mW @ 700mA or 450mW @ 1000mA

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
Oh, on wavelengths:

Royal is 455nm
Dental is 460nm
Blue is 470nm
Cyan is 505nm
Green is 530nm

djpark

Enlightened
I don't mean to hijack the thread, but always wanted to get the answer. Please forgive me.

When I was modding an LSL, the led lens dropped out together with the yellow phosphorus material. Then I got a publish blue, it is more to violet than blue but nowhere close to UV. What could be this color classified?

cheap-blue-forensic-2.jpg

-- dj

WildRice

Flashlight Enthusiast
WOW, you are lucky, I had that happin too, but 1 of the gold leads broke. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif. I was able to piwer it up with some small wires. it was a LUX I white, FWIR it was pretty clost to the royal blue color.
Jeff

greenlight

Flashlight Enthusiast