Seeking advice - New Infinity

DragonFlame

Newly Enlightened
Hi!
I'm seeking guidance from you CPF-ers in the following matter: I've got a new style Gerber Infinity Ultra. I'm not complaining about the new design, as I rather like the fact that the light is able to stand on its back end.

The thing is I'm not very happy with the blue-ish tint of the LED. I know that is not something unusual, but I like white better /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

So I wish to do something about it. Now I am not skilled at all with modding, in fact I have never done that before. So I ask you:

- Where can I get a really white LED from? Is there any way I can get my hands on a really white Nichia (as I have seen, these are very appreciated)? If there are other brands making truely white LEDs, I am open to suggestions /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
- How difficult is it to change the LED? Would I be able to do it safely without wrecking the light?

Thanks

paulr

Flashaholic
The THC3 leds from lsdiodes.com are supposed to be very white, as are ISP diodes which might be the same. They might be less efficient than the blue-white Nichias though.

Changing the led in a new-style Infinity Ultra is not exactly easy, but it's easier than it was in the older units. Whether you personally would be able to do it depends on your electronics skills. Certainly, various modders here have succeeded in this, and also with completely replacing the electronics.

This is a type of mod, though, that I generally haven't seen as worthwhile unless very easy. Otherwise, why not use a better light to begin with? If you don't mind a CR123 light, the Tekna Splashlite LS is about the same size as the Ultra, is very white, and is considerably brighter (it uses a Luxeon side emitter). It costs more, but several hours of your modding labor is also worth something.

DragonFlame

Newly Enlightened
Well, I initially chose the Infinity Ultra for its runtime, that's why I hadn't considered a Luxeon.