Solarforce L2E review / overview

chrisinhove

Newly Enlightened
My new Solarforce L2E has arrived.

This is a new model with 90degree head to take standard P60 led drop-ins, and either one or two 18650 batteries, with the second battery extender included.

Also in the box comes spare O rings and gitd switch boot.

I have never used an angle light before, and I really quite like the feel of this in hand. Not better, but different, as they say. The clicky on the tail cap is definitely not an intuitive placement, however, unless you use the lamp inverted.

I'm no machinist but the standard of fit and finish seems at very least up to recent, high Solarforce standards. Threads are all neat and nicely greased. A tiny speck of anodising was missing from the from of mine.

The only knurling is diamond pattern on the switch head (matching that on the extension tube) and ribbed on the magnet casing lid.

The main feature is the heavily square grooved head, which I hope and assume to be a big plus for heat management. It remains a solid lump, however, and quite weighty.

There is a painted 2-way spring steel clip that works in either direction. It is neat but first impressions are that it struggles to hold the lamp still, due to this weight, and certainly on thinner clothing fabric. Right way up, the crook of the clip is quite low down the lamp, meaning it wants to tip. Like the tail switch, it works better with the lamp inverted.

Similarly, the head magnet struggles to hold the lamp when on a steel surface which is heavily coated. It will hang vertically OK, but when latched on sideways can spin or slide, but this will depend on how the steel is coated. It slowly slides all the way down the side of my 'fridge, for example.