streamlight pt 2 aa

smoky123

Newly Enlightened
Hi , I am new to the flashlight world but don't want a cheap light like always was the case . All I want is a descent light for home an camping .I want aa batteries also . how would the streamlight pt 2 aa be ? Thanks for your input .

County

Newly Enlightened
Welcome to the forum!

The PT-2AA is a decent multi-purpose light. It does have a pretty tight hotspot so it's great for distance illumination. The corona or spill-beam is usable but there are other AA lights that are more floody, which might be a better attribute for general use such as household projects or camping where you might tend to need a wider area illuminated at once. It's a matter of personal preference. Perhaps you prefer a more tightly focused beam and if so, you'll be very happy with the pt-2AA. I don't have any specific recommendations for a floody AA light but I'm sure others will.

Hope this helps!

Mike

bnemmie

Enlightened
Its not a bad little light. I EDC'ed one for a while. I didn't like the UI much but that was a personal preference. All in all tho, it was a quality light that always worked for me and was enough light for that I needed it for.

dan05gt

Newly Enlightened
I have several Streamlights including the Protac 1AA (70 lumen version), 2L (260 lumen version), and HL. I like the 1AA and 2L the best due to better battery life and plenty of lumens for my needs. I do agree with bnemmie that the UI could use some improvement (my favorite UI is the 2 stage Elzetta). For the price the Streamlight Protac is hard to beat, but one thing to keep in mind is that they do have PWM which on low mode may be something you need to consider whether or not it is suitable for your application (the frequency of PWM appears to be relatively slow). For the money though they really are good lights in my opinion.